Craniopharyngioma in Public

  • June 24, 2020, 11:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For those of you who are still checking in here but we aren’t Facebook friends (do I even have readers who aren’t Facebook friends?) here’s my update.

About 5 weeks ago I started having really bad headaches and my vision would go all wonky (tunnel vision, black spots). I called my PCP (ex-PCP as of today) and she prescribed me pain pills and suggested I get a CT. I scheduled the CT but the pain pills weren’t working and she couldn’t figure out how to listen to the pharmacist on how to order stronger meds that were available (it was Memorial day weekend). The pain got so bad that on the Sunday before Memorial Day I took myself to the ER. They did a CT scan and found what they thought was a cyst in my 3rd ventricle.

I was taken by ambulance to the hospital (our local ER isn’t attached to one but is in the same health care system). At the hospital (run by Cleveland Clinic) they did an MRI and admitted me to the ICU. Apparently, what the ER doc thought was a cyst was in fact a largish CPG, sitting on my pituitary gland, optic nerve, and hypothalamus. It was blocking movement of my CSF and was creating a lot of pressure on my brain. I was scheduled for surgery on the 27th.

The neurosurgeons decided not to do a craniotomy and instead they went in transsphenoidally (through my right nostril). They drained the cyst, removed the tumor (and my pituitary gland and stalk), and put in a lumbar drain and I stayed on the ICU for 9 days. Liam was allowed to visit the day before and the day after surgery and that was it. My parents, sister, and nephews all made it to FL on Memorial Day but no one was allowed to visit me, due to COVID.

I was discharged on June 5th with several new medical issues. I have panhypopituitarism (which means I don’t produce any hormones at all, including cortisol which is apparently super important), diabetes insipidus (not related to the other diabetes, this one is about controlling fluid intake and output), hypothyroidism and high blood pressure. I’m also not sleeping great, super stuffed up from the procedure to remove the tumor, and most of my right eye peripheral vision is.... blurry.

I don’t do well with screens (tv, laptop, cellphone) but I am getting better with those. I can do some short spurt reading on my Kindle. Talking on the phone is okay but I need to use the speaker as the noise right next to my head is horrendously painful. I’ve been on serious restrictions regarding blowing my nose, coughing, bending over, lifting anything over 10 lbs, going up and down the stairs, getting up or sitting down… basically anything that puts pressure on my brain. I had about 6 days where I leaked from my nose, we think it was CSF but we aren’t sure.

I’ve been struggling emotionally, too. I was a relatively healthy, independent, woman before those dang headaches. The doctors think this tumor could have been slowly growing for decades and likely is the reason I couldn’t get pregnant. So I probably had my hysterectomy for no good reason. However, the lack of hormone production due to the hysterectomy is probably why the tumor grew like it did in the last 18 months. This kind of tumor is found in women that are post-menopausal or girls that are just entering puberty.

I find myself dozing off like a narcoleptic and sometimes I forget what I was going to say. I also have trouble catching my breath.

I just keep telling myself that I’m lucky to be alive (because I really am, how the tumor was sitting could have killed me) and that there is something to be learned from all of this. That I know that God has me and He’s got a reason for this tumor. I don’t know what that reason is. My uncle (godfather too) said that “sometimes His tests are hard” and I thought…yeah, I know, I’ve read Job.

I’m so frustrated and I get angry quickly. Good thing I’m still in therapy.


Mamie June 24, 2020

That is horrifying. Glad they found it before it killed you

crystal butterfly June 26, 2020

We are not FB friends. I do read you here. I pray that all the new health issues will resolve themselves and you get relief from them all.

Greenie June 28, 2020

It’s pretty incredible what you’ve been through. Thinking of you and hoping things get easier.

Kpred2004 January 21, 2021

That is really a lot to process, you have definitely been through a lot.

I actually have diabetes insipidious as well which is rare. Make sure you get a medical alert saying that you are vasopressin dependent. Before I got diagnosed I was drinking up to 3 gallons of water a day. Make sure you do a lot of reading on that.

I would also suggest talking to a therapist to help you with some emotional healing as well. Hugs

Take care and best of luck.

Ecclesiastes7:8 Kpred2004 ⋅ January 21, 2021

Oh, I know all about DI now, I'm in a really great Facebook group, I've learned so much. Were you born with DI or did you get diagnosed later in life?
And I definitely have a therapist, she's great and has been such a help since the surgery.

Kpred2004 Ecclesiastes7:8 ⋅ January 22, 2021

I'm 34 now. When I was younger, anytime we ever went to a restaurant I always had at least 2 glasses minimum.

In 2009 I did a 25 day tour of Europe and most of my money went to water but I didn't connect those dots until just recently.

I don't really remember it going full force until I was pregnant with my oldest about 9/10 years ago.

When I was in labor, I struggled with not having water so I would have 2 containers of ice so I could secretly drink the one as it was melting.

When I was pregnant with my second I carried a gallon jug with me everywhere I went. I was literally peeing about every 45 minutes and I wasnt sleeping. I peed so much into the hat thing that I overflowed it.

I would literally go into a full blown panic if I wasn't close to water and I would literally chug 44oz waters in seconds.

My mom is actually the one who kept pushing me to get diagnosed. She kept telling me to tell them how much I was drinking. I did the urine output and turned in 5 full jugs in 24 hours. Everyone always thought I was diabetic and kept testing my sugar which always came back normal.

I did the dehydration test, I only lasted about 3 hours and my endocrinologist called me directly on a Saturday as soon as he got my bloodwork and sent over a script to pick up medicine.

I take Desmopressin pills, solid 2 pills sometimes 2 1/2 depending on caffeine intake.

Stress makes it worse. Not always having access to a public bathroom if I am out always heightens my anxiety about having this disease. With the water fountains all being closed off for Covid..also high stress. There have been plenty of times where I would be grocery shopping and have to pull a gallon water off the shelf and drink half of it before I make it to the next aisle.
My mom has a few autoimmune diseases and so I think it was from her side of the family.

I worry about my kids, especially my youngest. He's 5 and still wears a pullup to bed. If I don't wake him up before a certain time, hes soaked :(

I'm in a fb group too. It's nice not knowing I'm not alone. I can handle it now but I worry about once I am older and can't run to a bathroom or forget to take medicine.

My husband knows I have it and even though he knows it is life threatening, he just doesn't get it.

I can't imagine just being thrown into this with no real build up over time. You are very strong to handle all of the other things that were thrown at you all at once.

Kristen

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.