Jack Kennedy: an elusive hero in book reviews

  • April 1, 2014, 3:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

author - Chris Matthews

I was a child when Kennedy was killed, even younger when he ran for office. I was not either politically aware nor politically astute when he was in his heyday. I learned a LOT from this book, from his heavy handed means to an end, the evolution of his beliefs, from being a rabid anti-Communist in agreement with the HUAC if not their tactics, from his background, his use of power to his legacy. I think the following quote sums it all up. It's by Ted Sorensen (his speech writer).

"An American President, commander in chief of the world's greatest military power, who during his presidency did not send one combat troop division abroad or drop one bomb who used his presidency to break down the barriers of religious and racial equality and harmony in this country and to reach out to the victims of poverty and repression, who encouraged Americans to serve their communities and to love their neighbors regardless of the color of their skin, who waged war not on smaller nations but on poverty and illiteracy and mental illness in his own country and who restored the appeal of politics for the young and sent Peace Corps volunteers overseas to work with the poor and untrained in other countries -- was in my book a moral president, regardless of his personal misconduct."

Another quote from the book, attributed to Charlie Bartlett, a longtime friend of JFK:

"We had a hero for a friend -- and we mourn his loss. Anyone, and fortunately there were so many, who new him briefly or over long periods, felt that a bright and quickening impulse had come into their life. he had uncommon courage, unfailing humor, a penetrating, ever-curious intelligence and over all a matchless grace. he was our best. We will remember him always with love and sometimes, as the years pass and the story is retold, with a little wonder."

I highly recommend this book.


Deleted user April 01, 2014

OK, I'm sold. Gonna have to look for this book this weekend. Thanks for the entry and the recommendation. ; )

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ April 01, 2014

I learned SO much. I was intrigued at the positive feelings of his friends. There's so much more here than we've ever learned from the news.

Deleted user Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ April 01, 2014

Yes, we lost a special man in JFK. I often wonder of all the "what ifs" had he lived his life to old age.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ April 01, 2014

or if Bobby had his chance at the presidency. At the end of the book, it describes how JFK would NOT have gone into VietNam with fighting troops.

Deleted user Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ April 01, 2014

Yes, Bobby Kennedy I'm certain must have had many ideas and plans of how he wanted a better America. I think the country would be a better place today had they both lived.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ April 01, 2014

I think my next book (to read at HOME, as it's about 800 pages) is Stephen King's alternative history/time travel wherein someone stops the assassination of JFK. It's titled 11/22/63.

Deleted user April 12, 2014

I was in my local mall today and walked into the book store thinking of the book you mentioned of Looking Backward. And I didn't find it, but I did find this one in paperback about Jack Kennedy by Chris Matthews, and I remembered you had recommended it. So I bought it for $4.00. I think my father will like it too. He's a big fan of Chris Matthews and watches his show "Hardball" all the time.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ April 12, 2014

There's a LOT to learn in that book!! And then I read the Stephen King book, 11/22/63, about time travel with the goal of preventing the assassination - it was long, but perfect juxtaposition...

Deleted user Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ April 12, 2014

oooh, I'll have to look for the Steven King book on 11/22/63. Time travel has always intrigued me. But going back in time to prevent the assassination of JFK, awesome. Would even make a great movie.

Deleted user Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ April 12, 2014

I actually do like to keep my books. I plan on having a book shelf built when I remodel my basement and I can have my own library. My favorite author is Clive Cussler and I've read about half of his books, but I've continued to buy his books and hopefully one day I'll have his whole collection. But thank you for the info.

Darcy0207 from OD Deleted user ⋅ April 13, 2014

I read fast - sometimes 5 books a week - so keeping them all is out of the question. I had gotten a freebie preview ticket to see Sahara (movie) before it came out... liked it, so read a couple of Cussler books. I found them to be interesting, but very similar in plot. So I stopped. I like the historical aspect; but felt that they were formulaic.

Deleted user Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ April 13, 2014

Sahara book version is way better than the movie in my opinion, but that happens a lot. And the historical quality of Cussler books is one of my favorite parts of his book. The ones I've read are the Dirk Pitt books. And they are all similar in a way, but he still gets some diversity in his books too. Ann Rice had me hooked for her vampire books and Mayfair Witches series too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.