You Gotta Be Kidding Me Right Now! Right? in Just Call Me Your Lunatic Friend. Welcome To The Madness.

  • June 20, 2020, 9:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, this morning’s prompt I viewed as a sort of a slap in the face, a punch in the gut and a swift kick in the ball all at once. The prompt now is to write about a manly hobby I hope to take up.

There are times it feel I can barely be viewed as a man with my handicaps. Did I tell you all how I used to be a decent drummer? That is or was pretty manly, right? well that was stripped from me on July 3rd, 2017. Music is seen by many a hobby or a passion. That WAS my life, not anymore!

For a dude that can’t even write his name, can barely dress himself, or even masturbate with his dominant hand I can hardly think of a single manly hobby let alone something I could do. I know I have a mainly pessimistic view today but remember that slap, punch and kick I mentioned a bit ago? It is like I’m being forced to look at how unmanly, how utterly useless I am to any woman. How broken I am. It is not a pleasant thing to have to face at the top of my day.

laughs

The only thing I can think of is when I recently tried to take up therapeutic adult coloring a couple of weeks ago only to find I am unable to use a crayon or colored pencil effectively.

I can remember manly pursuits I considered prior to the damned stroke and its emasculating results. Things like raising meat animals, and learning to become a butcher and then becoming an artisan sausage maker. I had planned that if I was ever a father to a daughter I would take up crafting actual home built doll houses. (I don’t know if that is considered manly, but it is something I dreamed of.)

I also talked to mom about moving her and I back to Missouri to her property there and running a small vegetable farm. I also thought of becoming a competitive chili cooker or a competitive BBQ pit master. Can you tell I was a bit of a dreamer?

I also wished to have recording studio of my own. I was going to do that and invite my friend’s band down to record their music but that dream has gone up in smoke.

The only thing I can currently think of currently is to become a day trader to not on take advantage of my enjoyment of numbers and statistics and also to generate an income since I’m trapped with making pemanent disability from the government for the rest of my life and how am I supposed to prepare for any sort of livable retirement on that?

What can I say? I’ll be 53 this year. Normally, I would look at it and say I had the 2nd half of life ahead of me but now I feel as though I am trapped in the box already and folks have started shoveling dirt on top of it, with my still breathing broken self still inside. And laughing…

Be good humans and enjoy your father this weekend’s father’s day.

Current Music: “Desperado”
By: The Eagles


Mamie June 20, 2020

I too am permanently disabled; I have a heart condition that makes me pass out randomly. So I can relate to your depression. When I first got disabled I felt like it was the end of my world, and it was, I couldn't work anymore and work was my life. I still get depressed but getting on anti-depressants helps.

Valued Customer June 22, 2020

The strength, beauty and compassion you wear on the inside is evident. <3

DE---Mr. Stix Valued Customer ⋅ June 23, 2020 (edited June 23, 2020)

Edited

rubs my eyes Am I reading this correctly? Did the absolutely gorgeous Missy call something about me "beautiful"? Yay, go me! laughs

Thanks hon! You are far too kind.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.