Our Streets in Talk Radio

  • June 20, 2020, 7:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I do consider road blockades a non-violent protest. There are many paths around for the cars and protestors will direct traffic. This demonstration is part of the whole picture that no type of resistance that is OK by the white supremacist system. We can’t let them smother us by turning protests into a parade or a theme park.

Cops will even do PR work and mingle with the crowd during the blockades. Photos of this make official PD social media claiming people are swarming or harassing the cars… as if the cars aren’t willingly driving thru them.

There’s a lot of propaganda & silence on FB to counter.

  • BLM logos pasted into fake flyers advocating white genocide
  • MAGAts posting photos of construction site as if it were an antifa drop-off of improv weapons
  • helpless old Buffalo man accused of provocateuring
  • defense of racist statues & the name of our city
  • denial of white supremacist militas (such as in Bethel, OH)

So, you can imagine: internet activism and chorin’ after waking up at like 2pm doesn’t leave me lots of daytime hours for protest. I hate the sun and heat, so that’s kinda great. Except for this widely held idea that no one out at night is up to any good.

The bike is my plan to escape quickly if needed while attending protests at night. The decision was made while trying to find my car about 20 minutes after curfew and realizing I am confused because Google did not correctly remember my parking location…

which, by the way, the cops block the road more than anyone!! No cop felt like busting my balls 20m after curfew that day, but the hypocrisy is still heavy.

I cannot navigate or get around blocks very well, but I am stubborn, hence the bike. But haha, on the day that I bought my bike they ended the curfew. I’ve really taken to riding though, so no buyer’s regret. I haven’t and hopefully won’t ever have any cops in pursuit.

On one of the first nights with my new bike I went on a ride with an anarcho-communist and a small gang of radicals. He kept asking me if I am a cop; We discussed politics on an abandoned bridge over the highway. I learned the bridge used to be a homeless tent city, but they were run out and replaced with a mural that can only (legally) be seen from the sky: “We are stronger together.”

The bikers warned me about a activist group which is trying to speak to the cops and the mayor… I get not being into a group like that. It’s like they are negotiating with terrorists. It’s not my favorite lane, but it’s available to me right now, so I sent them some info on bad cops. (No Proof)

I had a great time with the bikers but I felt easily impressed by their streetwise. I am so dorky for this and to them potentially suspect. Understandable, but disappointing. I feel like I am too radical for normal people with jobs and too soft and nerdy for people truly living radically.

I have some more shit I want to recall about staying out late. It’s definitely riskier. I want to fight to protect my city streets for night time riding and walks with the dog.


Last updated January 16, 2021


Mamie June 20, 2020

My aunt is all about saving those racist statues because of "people need it to remember their history" but I call bull shit on that; Germany took down the Nazi statues and people still remember how racist the Nazis were without the statues that glorify them.

synapse Mamie ⋅ June 23, 2020

It's weird the history argument is so prevalent among people who don't actually know history

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.