Stir crazy in The View from the Terrace

  • June 18, 2020, 10:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think I have been going a bit stir crazy lately. Just being stuck here is getting to me. We are allowed to drive a short distance to go for a walk now but there is a big problem with that for me; I have a bladder problem and need to be able to go to the loo fairly often and all of the public toilets are still closed. It’s really annoying as it means we still can’t go to the beach; there are no big shops to pop into around there and, of course, all of the cafes are closed too. I can manage shopping as there are loos there and the parks are not too far away, but that’s it.

It’s quite depressing that Facebook keeps showing me memories of all of the things I usually do at this time of year and I am stuck here. Yesterday I just had to go somewhere so I went for a walk around the block with the dog. I stopped off at the phonebox library on the way. They didn’t have any books that interested me on this visit but I left one there that I had finished with. It’s nice having somewhere to take books I have read and don’t want to keep. I used to donate them to the crisis line library and then after I came here to a charity shop but they are all still closed.

In England the shops that were not deemed essential are now allowed to open again provided they adhere to social distancing regulations. They haven’t had the go ahead here in Wales yet. I really miss those charity shops and also the cafe up the road, though I doubt cafes will be allowed to open again just yet. The cafe next door is very busy. They are now doing takeaways and online orders and seem to be doing quite well, people are adapting.

Hubby is coming down on Sunday. We will still have to socially distance, if the weather permits we will stay in the garden and maybe go for a socially distanced walk. I’m not sure what to do about the dog as she won’t do distancing, maybe we can wipe her over afterwards.

Today the rain is tipping down which does at least give me a rest from watering the garden but also means I will be stuck in the flat all day. How I long to go away for a few days to the sea with Hubby. I do hope something like that is going to be possible soon.


Marg June 18, 2020

We experienced that very problem with the toilets on Tuesday - Nikki & the kids met me at the shops at the beach as she wanted to pop into 3 of them so I was going to sit in the car with the kids (my car alongside their car and talk via the phones). As it was a lovely day we decided to go for a walk along the beach prom first but both Nikki & I needed the loo and I just forgot there would be no toilets available apart from at Asda which had a great long queue! So we had a very uncomfortable walk then all of us had to join the Asda queue and pretend we didn't know each other - all because of 2 weak bladders lol :) I miss the charity shops too as I buy a lot of my clothes from them - there's a Barnardos one at the entrance to Tesco with very tempting stuff in its window, torturing me every week when I do the shopping!

Jinn July 04, 2020

Our stores are open . You have to wear masks. I still hesitate to go to just “ shop” .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.