Brief points on various things in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • April 1, 2014, 5:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

On Books: So I've picked up a few books recently. The one I've just started is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I'm only about four pages in so far. The other books I've bought today include Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier and Barbara Kingsolver's The Poisonwood Bible, which is going to be a re-read.

I've also got to read Sovereign by C.J. Sansom, and The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson. I've placed them in a pile by my bed, to go on to my bookshelf after I've finished them. I finished Sansom's Dark Fire yesterday, so I will be reviewing that at some point.

On Work: I worked around half an hour longer than I should have done on Sunday, and didn't eat anything for around ten hours. I was that busy. Despite my asking to be paid for the extra, I'm not likely to get it. I just wish I'd got something else to go to - this isn't the first time I've been dropped in it, and expected to work through my unpaid meal break. My department's going downhill really badly, and I've had enough.

Couchsurfing: Have two couch surfers staying with me at the moment. Two women, A is from France and B is Taiwanese. B's a lot more friendly and chatty, plus she reads heaps (always a bonus for me). A, I know very little about. They've been here since Saturday, and A's not given out any information aside from her name and where she's from. Talking to her is very difficult, trying to get a conversation going is near on impossible. So I don't try and trouble her anymore, I figure if she wants to talk she can approach me. Otherwise I just get on with life. Shame really.

Going Interstate: I've been thinking about going interstate somewhere, as I've not seen much of Australia. Not sure where though, I might go and couchsurf somewhere and see a bit of the sights.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.