Derailment in A New Journey

  • June 15, 2020, 7:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We live in Hanna where Hanna is a town in Carbon County, Wyoming, United States. The population is under 800, with a small grocery store and a credit card gas pump and elementary and Junior/high school. The town was started as a coal supply location for the Union Pacific Railroad in 1889. Much of the old town is built on top of the former workings of the Hanna No. 4 mine. So this town is basically a BEDROOM town. As I call it, people work out of town and just come home to sleep and go to work. But Boyd works for a Denver, Colorado company and is able to work from home. So we have the Union Pacific railroads just about 100 yards from our house.
So yesterday we were just doing some house work as we didn’t go on our adventure and we were noticing all the trains were stopping in our town and not going through. So I have an Iphone and my i watch was starting to buzz of an alert of a derailment about 2 hours from us, it was saying this…”.People need to stay out of the area,” Kitchner said. “We have 100-foot flames and have had multiple explosions. This is a very dangerous situation.”
So the neighbors were all coming outside as all the trains had stopped here in our town. WE went online to find out whats going on. SO we found out that an explosion had happened.

https://trib.com/news/state-and-regional/authorities-investigate-train-derailment-and-explosion-outside-rock-springs/article_13824064-d688-5fa9-845f-dc27987a5d3a.html

I hope I had entered the correct info about the derailment! I have friends who live in Rocks Springs and I contacted them and they said it was so loud and scary. They had to block off I80 from traffic as it was close to the railroads.

SO as of today I was outside cutting the grass and all of I sudden I was feeling the ground shaking a little. Well, it was not bad, all the trains were finally leaving and trying to go fast as they are like 2 days behind of delivering supplies to where ever they were suppose to go. I worry a lot of something like that happening in our town too as a few months ago we had another derailment just 4 miles from us and nothing exploded just cars just went off tracks and it was bad. SO it was also during the worse time of the COVID-19 and they have been driving so fast on the tracks and I wish they would just take their time getting to places. BUT when they come through our town they are to slow down and not be so loud.

Anyhoo, its been windy the last few days, and I finished one of my paintbynumbers.com of a dog for Boyd daughter as she has a Labordor and I was so happy it looked so good. So I had to order some frames throught Amazon and I am so happy it will be here by Friday so he can take it to her on Saturday when he goes to Leadville, Co to see her for the Father’s Day weekend.

Well I hope everyone is having a good start of the week. It’s only Monday but I know I am at a good start of the week so far!
I better get off and get some supper made. I am hungry. Have a great evening!!


Last updated June 15, 2020


Anaiss June 15, 2020

Wow that had to be pretty traumatic. Glad you are all ok!

thesunnyabyss June 15, 2020

scary, I'm glad you and your people are all ok, take care!!

Beret June 16, 2020

Wow, scary. I've been to Rock Springs. More than once.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.