You Can Not Rewrite History in God, With Skin On

  • June 16, 2020, 1:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay from the start, I am a proud southern born and raised son of the confederacy. That does not make me responsible for slavery in America nor the Civil War. But it is part of my heritage and my history. And now there are some who want to erase or rewrite Southern History.
I will defend the Rebel Flag, not because I am a racist as some would suggest, but because it is a part of the southern heritage just as much as NASCAR is. The Southern Confederate Statues preserve the memory of the men who fought for what they believed in at the time. And the South was a different place then.
If you have the right to kneel at the National Anthem, I have the right to stand a salute when “Dixie” is played. I will scream the “Rebel” yell but at the same time, I will support your right to disagree.
I am also proud Cherokee. My ancestors owned this land until the white man came and took it. So, do I have the right to demand we take down all symbols that honor the white man? No, but according to some, I guess I should. Or the Vietnam monument? It offends some of my Asian friends.
The truth is we need to leave it all alone. History does not define us, it merely reveals the path that has led us to where we are today.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.