It's all just numbers? in A small but passable life.

  • June 12, 2020, 12:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t really been taking a deep dive into news stories. I read the headlines. I listen to a few programs on NPR during my afternoon nap time.

Another 1.5 million filed for unemployment the week ending June 6. Which brings the total to over 44 million. In just three months. Just let that sink in.

The seven richest billionaires in the US have since March added over 40 billion dollars total to their net worth. Inequality much? Or have we proceeded on to social inequality?

In November there will be the choice of two pale-skinned septuagenarian morons on the presidential ballot. Could the US be even more fucked?

I’ve put the passport application on hold as there are no new passports being processed right now anyway. But I just remembered something else that I could add to the “to do” list for 2020- a medical marijuana card! There are both a “pot doc” and a store over on Power Rd. And I’ve still got most of the pandemic handout from the fed still in the bank.

The question is, do I really want to get stoned and have to deal with Mom while high? I’m thinking that would be a major buzzkill.

With the one month free trial of netflix I’m slowly binge watching my way through my shows I need to catch up on. Better Call Saul, Shameless, Black Mirror, and now Grey’s Anatomy. I’ll whittle away at my lists until the month is up and then decide whether to pay to proceed further with a subscription. I guess I could budget a year from the pandemic handout.

Arizona has now made the national news for being one of the “idiot states” that opened too early with the total Covid cases now tripling in number. The idiot governor is saying it is because there is more testing. The scientists say no, it is because the percentage of positives from testing went from 5% to 12%. So the number of tests doesn’t factor in. There is science and there is stupid. I’m afraid stupid is gaining ground.

I’m still waiting on the first of two William Gibson novels from the library. I’m tempted to order them both from amazon. I could have the kindle versions instantly. Or the hardcovers to put on the shelf. And there is that pandemic handout money.

Choices. Are they really worth it?


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.