Spring? Am I crazy? in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • March 31, 2014, 5:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When the entire house shook at 5:58 AM the thought of an earthquake immediately jumped into our minds. Hubby got on line to see what the local geologist had to say and there was no mention of even a tremor. The snow is still pretty deep up in New England and the north side of the house still has a great deal of snow on the roof - even after raking much of it off. A walk around the house, checking out the windows and low and behold, I noticed the avalanche that had slide off the section of roof over the Great Room. Two day later another rumble tore though the house and the noise was so loud it was heard clear down the road. The snow on the westerly side of the garage had also cascaded down to the ground blocking the drive toward the back entrance. As of this morning, only a small section in the corner by the master bedroom - where no sun ever shines, is still covered in snow and ice. The Ice dams are nearly melted away - thank goodness, but two feet of snow is still lurking under the bedroom window on the breezeway's roof.

We are beginning to see ground in patches. The biggest patch - about 4' in diameter is where the septic tank is. I see this as a potential place to place a temporary green house to get the seeds started for the massive garden again this summer. Somehow, the few seeds I have put in peat pots in the sun-room may or may-not make it. We will see.

This is advising season on campus. I have my list of advisees and it just seems to grow and grow. At least 8 will be graduating this May - always bitter sweet when they move on. They will be replaced with younger, eager faces in the fall. Somehow, after a couple of semesters, the eager faces sometimes change into anxiety riddled faces, Only to smooth out again as they approach the end by Senior year. I will miss some of this group and a couple of them I will be happy to see go. Does that sound bad? It isn't that I play favorites, it's just that I get to know some of them better than others.

Oh, we got news today that our college president is a finalist for a position at another college. This may be a really good thing since many of the faculty and alums don't like her very well. Personally, I get along with her just fine. My boss, on the other hand, is an arch rival and ready to pounce anytime he can. I suspect he will make a play for the position once it is announced she is leaving. There are others who want the job as well - myself not being one of them. I can think of few jobs I would hate more than being a college president. you can't make the Board of trustees happy and the faculty and staff happy at the same time - can't be done. Well, not at this campus anyway. And here, our Alumni don't want to donate until she is gone because she has pissed them off by cutting the ski team, running off all but two Greek societies (in our school, I am the faculty adviser for the Kappa girls and truth be told, they are not only the Greeks but the Geeks - ever watch Monster University and see the Frat our lead characters manage to get into? Well, that's our kids). She also took money for a turf field which was to be named after a retired Athletic Director and instead named it after an English Professor - that did not go well. She has hired friends in VP positions and they have been horrific. It's a mess. But as a person, I like her. Thing of it is, she has little to do with faculty or how and what we teach. That is just fine with me. Leave me alone and let me do my job. I will stay involved in student programs and activities and keep out of the politics.

Speaking of doing my job... I have to gather up my things, grab a couple of textbooks to review this evening and head for home. Maybe Hubby will surprise me by having dinner started? Wishful thinking......

Have a good one! Until later.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.