Life goes on in Just in Case

  • June 6, 2020, 8:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes I realize that living in this rural area means I am in sort of a bubble - away from a lot of the things going on in the world. I’m ok with that. We face issues here, too, just differently. It’s definitely not perfect, and we face issues that others don’t, but I love it.
We have no idea what school will look like in the fall, but many at my school are doing lots of online trainings to build skills for teaching virtually, for teaching kids dealing with trauma, etc. Some of us were talking yesterday. It’s so weird. We weren’t off these past two months. In fact some days/weeks, we were putting in many more hours than a “normal” teaching time. We had kids and parents contacting us at all times of day and night, we were trying to figure out how to teach and reaching out to the kids who weren’t able to get online. Still - in many ways - it feels like we had our summer break already. We feel like we are ready for school to start. But, we have 2 months to go. We’re hoping that doesn’t mean we will have lost the drive by August. We have a lot of work to do this summer. We have to work with our curriculum to plan on teaching just the key things (in case of staggered schedule or online teaching). I teach science - I’ve got to figure out how to teach it without groups working together - but still making it hands on.
My mom is doing better. She got her nerve block shot Thursday morning and is feeling much better. We are getting together tomorrow. It’s supposed to be for my birthday meal, but I don’t know that she’s going to be up for cooking. I’m fine with that. Just enjoying spending time with them.
We are watching Cristobol. It’s supposed to make our lives interesting on Monday. Having 3 named systems by/before the start of hurricane season - hoping that’s not a sign of the season to come.
I hope all of y’all are being safe out there. Senidng hugs!!!


Small Town Girl June 09, 2020

So many signs of Revelations being played out these past few months!
Stay safe down there!

Jinn August 07, 2020

If there is some way to teach your students ; you will do it and do it well.

dream seeker Jinn ⋅ August 07, 2020

❤️❤️❤️You are too sweet!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.