Almost Five... in Me

  • June 4, 2020, 5:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I cannot believe that in five days (four days, by the time I get this posted) my baby bug will be FIVE YEARS OLD.

On her birthday, we’ll have the parade…

I actually reached out to our borough police chief last week (left him a voicemail) and didn’t hear back. So on Tuesday, I reached out to him again (we’ll call him Chief W) and left another voicemail and then also reached out to our township police chief (Chief B) and left him a voicemail as well.

PA has boroughs inside of townships inside of counties… Where we are, we’re technically moreso in the borough’s jurisdiction, but we do fall into the township’s as well

Within an hour, Chief B called me back. He asked what I had in mind, so I told him. (From 5:30-6:30pm, our local friends & family will drive by the entrance to our apartment complex and beep & wave at her). He was SUPER friendly and pointed out that they’ve more or less got a system down for successfully executing parades like this because of Covid. He said typically, they’d choose a beginning/meeting point so that the parade would kick off in an organized, group fashion. And he also volunteered to reach out to the volunteer emergency services department up the road to see if they could send a fire truck or ambulance by as well. He did ask if I’d contacted Chief W, as he doesn’t want to step on anyone’s toes (I totally get it) and I explained the situation.

He assured me he’d touch base with the other departments and follow up with me soon, which was super awesome.

Within a few hours, Chief W called me back. He apologized for taking so long to get in touch, which was no big deal – Things happen/people are busy. But then he mentioned that Chief B had contacted him, which rubbed me the wrong way – Is that why you contacted me?

Anyways… The entire tone of the conversation with him was so drastically different than my earlier conversation with Chief B. Chief W was all “I can’t promise anything… if we get a call, we can’t be there” (which, for the record, I ENTIRELY understand… Ev knows NOTHING about maybe having cops/fire trucks/etc come to her parade… Just in case). He was just… jerkish…?

In any event, I have faith in Chief B, and we’ll see how it goes…

In the meantime, I got stuff to put in goodie bags to leave on a table for people to take if they feel comfortable, and my Mom is decorating GORGEOUS sugar cookies and individually wrapping them as well. I got a foam posterboard that I’m going to paint a happy birthday message on, and as far as I know, Ev still is dead-set on wearing her Princess Elsa dress-up dress… So let’s hope it doesn’t get hotter than the 77 degrees they’re predicting now…

After the parade, Ev’s dad and Miss Ashley will come inside and have dinner and ice cream with us. She chose “white chicken spaghetti with broccoli not in my noodles”.
Translation: Chicken Alfredo with broccoli on the side

Then next Saturday is her family birthday party…

She’s described how she wants the apartment decorated… Homegirl wants a “Frozen Palace”, lol. She even asked me to paint one of our living room walls with GLITTER!! Uhhhh, that’s not happening… I did order a sequin-covered fabric tablecloth that I’m going to hang on the main living room wall as kind of like a “backdrop” (Pray that this sucker isn’t too heavy for thumbtacks, lol). And I have a metric ton of snowflakes and Frozen character decorations to hang from the ceiling.

Tuesdays & Thursdays, Ev has dinner with her Dad… Thursday I will go grocery shopping for the food stuffs I’ll need. And then Alex is going to take Ev for dinner on Friday evening so that I can decorate the night before and have one less thing to stress the morning of the party.

SO FAR… She doesn’t seem sad about “losing” her big huge party… She’s excited for the parade (I’ve intentionally hyped her up for it in the hopes of her not being disappointed about not having a big party). As of right now, there are 21 “yes” RSVP’s and 5 “maybe”.


•kitkat• June 04, 2020

Her birthday sounds like it's going to be amazing!

lessoff June 04, 2020

:)

the kid who mows my lawn (cole)'s dad is one of the fire chiefs here. he has done two different firetruck b day parties for the little boys on the street (both when they turned 5 which was like a month out from each other). i wish lydia was at all interested. she doesnt care about firetrucks (she thinks they are loud).

i cant believe she will be 5.

lydia keeps reminding me that right now she is 4 and in a little bit she will be 5 (july 30).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.