Why Don't Parents Listen? in Just in Case

  • June 2, 2020, 11:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This morning, I was planning out my day and got a call from Mama (the plan was actually to go over there to visit.) She sounded like she was crying - She admitted that she had fallen yesterday evening. Daddy was able to help her up finally, but she was hurting. We know she needs another spinal fusion, but she can’t get it because of her osteoporosis. Her doctor tells her all the time, be careful, a fall will be bad. So many emotions - she was waiting for me to yell that they didn’t call. (I was good - my sister laid into them both and it all blew up. So, I was calmer, but still made my point.) She was scared that she had done some serious damage. And, she was hurting. Chey stepped up again, being so helpful taking care of her. She has an appointment Thursday for a nerve block shot, but she wasn’t sure where all of that would end up. I had Chey help her find some paperwork she needed, and I called the neurologist who did her surgery and was doing the shot. Their advice was, get to the ER or her primary care physician. (He’s a 40 minute, rough ride from her house. He had surgery all day, the two physician’s assistants in the office were both dealing with emergencies.) She didn’t want to do ER, so she got in with her PCP (one of her PAs). She had 6 xrays made and everything seemed to be ok, which was a blessing. Her neurologist will look at the xrays to make sure, but It looks like we got incredibly lucky. Before I left I had a brief face to face with each and told them that I wanted a call in the future. Not because I didn’t think they could handle it, or that I was needed - but because, by God, I’m their daughter and I deserve it. We’ll see.


Small Town Girl June 03, 2020

Oh no. Falls can be so bad indeed! Does she need to start using a walker? They have some really nice ones these days.

Jigger June 04, 2020

Your sister. Yelling at them isn’t going to help! They can’t help falling. And if they think they’re going to get yelled at, of course they’re going to keep it to themselves. :(

terriberri June 04, 2020

ironic how time and years can change the dynamics between parent and child...flip flopping so much. i'm so glad to hear that everything looked okay after the fall.

Jinn August 07, 2020

Preach ! :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.