Attacked By A Flying Ceramic Mug in 2020

  • May 28, 2020, 2:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ok. Picture a woman sitting on a sofa, putting ear drops in her infected ear and sitting with head tilted to await the medicine entering her outer ear. She’s watching TV, is comfortable with cooling morning coffee nearby. After a while she wants to get up, and pushed the table in order to rise. I mean that she pushes just a bit.

She pays little attention to her movements, is just beginning what she is used to doing day after day, but this day the heavy coffee mug on the table rocks and then crashes onto the table, and it tips…falls off the table and whacks her left tibia – which was still stretched out on a foot stool in front of the sofa..

Yep, the rocking mug comes down, broken, and whacks her leg, just above the scar from some ankle surgery years ago; it misses the joint, however, just hitting the leg hard.

ICE IS MY BEST FRIEND TODAY.

I think my leg is going to be colorful in the morning. In the five years I have lived here, this is the first accident that has happened that could have been much worse than I think it is. I was shaken by it but oddly enough two of my three children happened to text to see how I was minutes after this happened. Can’t beat that, can they? Given what medical offices and emergency areas are not I’m going to be happy if this just ends up being a bruised bone. No problem walking but the impact area hurts unless I am icing it.


MageB May 28, 2020

Have fun with y our ice. :)

ODSago MageB ⋅ May 29, 2020

It helped so much!

Marg May 29, 2020

Ouch! Well that wasn’t a great start to the day for sure!

Kristi1971 May 29, 2020

Oh my, that had to hurt like the dickens. Ice is definitely your best friend right now.

Zipster May 29, 2020

I call those calamities in inattention. I have had so many near misses and I find in general that I am just not paying close enough attention to what I am doing. While young, you can get away with that. But at this age there are consequence. I hope it is all better now.

Serin May 29, 2020

Hopefully it's just a bruise.

ODSago Serin ⋅ May 30, 2020

It seems to be.

noko May 30, 2020

Hope your ear is feeling better too.

ODSago noko ⋅ May 31, 2020

I think this time I've had true improvement. See the doctor on Wednesday.

Jinn July 07, 2020

Ouch ! Glad it was not more serious . I fell Sunday onto concrete and concussed myself . What a klutz ! Somehow I got unbalanced . I picked myself up and repotted the plants I destroyed on my way down :-( then I went in and put ice on my head. Later I started feeling very dizzy and sick so realized I should get seen. Luckily a doctor lives next door. It was just a mild concussion with a big goose egg . :-)

ODSago Jinn ⋅ July 09, 2020

So glad it was nothing serious...but sorry it happened.

Jinn ODSago ⋅ July 09, 2020

Thanks , I am on the upswing but big bumps on the head are not fun. They are deceiving ; you think you are ok and later you realize you were not. :-(

ODSago Jinn ⋅ July 12, 2020

Yes, I know...I had an head injury in an accident, and it was strange how the lump that resulted on my head traveled, ditto with a black eye when I bumped my heard on the bathroom tub. No fun.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.