Reaction YouTubes and other hits for the pandemic afflicted in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • May 23, 2020, 1:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yes, I watch a lot of YouTube videos. I would not say I’m addicted, but if all the multiple universes of places on the Internet, YouTube is probably right at the top or near it for go-to information, enlightenment, entertainment or pure, non-stop mindless distraction and comic relief. And we sure need it during this time of the pandemic. The Internet is what’s keeping us sane and connected so that we can try to live some semblance of normal lives in these crazy-scary times.

I include these: video clips from favorite shows from the 60s and 70s such as Carol Burnett Show sketches with Tim Conway and Harvey Kerman, or a 12-minute compilation of Seinfeld’s George Costanza in his wildest and looniest moments.

Growing in popularity now are people doing Trump impersonations, such as this which are actually as good as and more realistic than Alec Baldwin’s SNL sketches and Stephen Colbert’s masterful takeoff on A Late Show.

Here is J-L Cauvin:

https://www.youtube.com/user/JLCauvin

Also growing in popularity are video renditions of popular songs that repurpose the lyrics to fight Covid 19.

This is a fantastic one based on Petula Clark’s great hit from the 60’s “Downtown”:

And this one, an uncanny rendition of Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody:

Then there are the endless cute animal and pet videos, how to do anything videos, educational videos, TMI health information, excellent sites for probing the depths of psychology and parapsychology (Jeffrey Mishlove’s “New Thinking Allowed”) and on and on. It’s overwhelming. It’s truly mind-boggling. A feast.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFk448YbGITLnzplK7jwNcw

But recently I’ve found another genre on YouTube that is utterly fascinating and, yes, addictive. People have been rushing to add their reactions to famous and popular songs they’ve never heard before. There are Web sites and videos that show you how to do this. What I like best are when young people listen and react to some of the classic and mortal songs of the 60s and 70s.

Three of my all-time favorite artists who are considered to have arguably the finest voices and range in popular music recording history are Bobby Hatfield of the Righteous Brothers, Linda Ronstadt, and Jay Black of Jay and the Americans.

Black singing “Cara Mia” in 1965 at age 25 and again at age 72 with the same pitch and quality is thrilling to watch.

Hatfield singing “Unchained Melody” live on the Andy Williams Show in 1965 has 50 million views. It’s one of my top 5 favorite songs. The reaction video featuring TooSushi is priceless. I’ve watched it I don’t know how many times.

There have been thousands of comments on this video, including these, and they really are no exaggeration:

“Bobby Hatfield could sing a song that would cut through a heart of stone.”

“One of the greatest vocal performances the world has ever witnessed or heard. Perfect.”

I agree.

Finally, I’ve always loved Linda Ronstadt’s “Blue Bayou.” What a soaring, majestic voice she had. Here is JayveeTV’s reaction. I love it when people hear such great songs for the first time and share their experiences through their thoughts and emotions while watching. I love it.


Last updated May 23, 2020


TL May 23, 2020

I was today years old when I heard Blue Bayou for the first time. So wonderful! I'm kicking around on YouTube also but I'm watching SJW fails and looking at fitness tips. iBored

Oswego TL ⋅ May 23, 2020

It’s great when I can post stuff here that so obviously reveals my generation and era and not give a second thought to how “old” I am. Lol. Yes, Rondstadt is one of he greats from any generation!

My idea of fitness (since I don’t know when I’m going to get out for a walk today) is to turn the fan higher and rock a little harder in this rocking chair on the porch. Lol

TL Oswego ⋅ May 24, 2020

That sounds lovely I want a swing on a porch.

Marg May 25, 2020

I love the Bohemian Rhapsody one - so clever! Linda Ronstadt had a fabulous voice - such a shame she has Parkinson’s now :( I did my own version of the gobsmacked reaction when someone gave me a link to David Draimen’s version of The Sound Of Silence. Wow! I was in tears by the end. The music of the sixties and seventies was just the absolute best - no question.

Telstar May 25, 2020

Try "Highway Patrol" starring Broderick Crawford.

Now there's some vintage TV...…………………….

Newzlady May 28, 2020

Love the Lockdown song. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.