Today and writing in Thoughts, wishes and things

  • May 11, 2020, 8:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, today started off well when I got up at 6:30am without my alarm. I actually woke up at 4:30am too but luckily was able to get back to sleep after that. So anyway, a good start to the day. I’m on my 2nd load of laundry for the day, plus have run an errand already and cleaned a toilet so I guess that’s progress even though it doesn’t always feel like it at the time. I guess it feels like there’s always too much to do and not enough time to do it in.

I like that this is a good site to practice writing on. There’s other sites too but some of them feel too formal, like Medium, so I never made an account there. It’s like everything on Medium is supposed to be an article or practically a work of art, whereas by contrast I just want to express myself and my daily life without worrying about keywords and stuff like that.

Anyway, I still need to do a lot more cleaning today. I try to keep my cleaning to weekdays so that I can have the weekends be freer (well, free of cleaning at least - I still wind up doing laundry on the weekends sometimes!) So this means that Mondays can be kinda busy dealing with everything that’s built up over the weekend. In this case I didn’t do laundry on the weekend which is why I’ve got so much of it to do today.

Back to talking about writing (by coincidence I’ve done 1 paragraph on cleaning, one on writing, another on cleaning, and back to writing again). I would love it if there was a word count here going as-you-type, I mean it would be great even if it was a premium feature. I’d like to aim for a certain number of words per day, sorta like people who do a certain number of steps per day, you know? I read this book that said the biggest predictor of improving a skill is the amount of time spent on deliberate practice - let me look up the book on GoodReads and post the link here. It’s Talent is Overrated: What separates world-class performers from everybody else by Geoff Colvin. I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone, it’s definitely very motivational.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.