BTD ... "Bear the Dog" Part 2 in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • March 28, 2014, 6:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Bear was a unique dog. he also was an opportunist. Case in point:

Saturday evening Mr. Jim's Pizza

I was off for the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday or Saturday, Sunday, Monday days off. The wife and I made a dinner reservation at "The Mansion at Turtle Creek". This was an old establishment in downtown Dallas. Not only a Hotel, but a great restaurant. Dinner was at 700 pm. My oldest was at hockey practice, for Southlake Carroll, and will stay over at a friends. The youngest, was at home, and wanted a pizza. I ordered it 20 minutes before we would take off. A large Mr Jim's Mushroom, Sausage n Pepperoni Pizza.

As we were pulling out of the drive here comes the Pizza guy. I tell him, I'll get the check and bring it in. The pizza man is paid and tipped. I yell upstairs, "Hey pizza is here, it's on the kitchen island, we're talking off". "Okay"

We're on the way back home, it's about nine pm. My wife calls home. There is the answer on the other end. "Hi we're on the way, we may stop off at Kirby's Steakhouse for a half hour or so".."Okay". Kirby's was an upscale steakhouse in Southlake. They also had a piano bar, that could also accommodate a small ensemble. "How was the pizza"? "I don't know?, I never had any". "What do you mean, he told you it was there in the kitchen". "Yeah, and after you left, Joe Stallo called, I went over to Joe's for a bit. I forgot to put Bear outside. When I got home an hour and a half later, Bear ate the pizza".

Yeah Bear ate that whole Pizza, and the box. All that was left was a small dinner plate size of the top, where the grease and cheese didn't stick . Yep I picked up poop and Mr. Jim's pizza box leavings for a week.

Saturday afternoon. Pool Time and the Gin and tonic...

Another week end off days. Was time to trim around and edge the Bermuda grass, around the pool area. I mowed, and trimmed near the pool, the wife had the net and captured the grass clippings that found its want into the pool. I then checked the skimmer baskets, and the secondary filter, near the pump. I checked the chlorine and other levels earlier in the morning. The readings are more accurate, and the sun doesn't eat the pool chemicals right away. It 200 pm, pool time. I go inside and make a large plastic tumbler Gin and Tonic. I'll sit in the swim out, ( we didn't have pool ladders). and nurse that in the water. I hose off, and jump of the diving board. The Gin and Tonic, is on the coping by the swim out. My head breaks the surface of the water, and Bear has the tumbler in his mouth, drinking the Gin, eating the lime and ice. A lot is spilled, but he got a fair share of it. I grab the tumbler, he's rapid blinking... I go get another tumbler, but the offended one in the dishwasher. The wife says, "didn't you drink that awful fast"? "No, I never go a sip, Bear got into it". "Yeah, blame the dog". "Look at him, look at his eyes". He laid down, still rapid blinking, but I'll monitor him. "You think he's okay?" "Yeah, but, I'll keep tab's on him". I head back toward the swim out, and sit in the chest deep water. Grab the Gin, guess who is right there for round two?

Oh they get better.. see part 3


woman in the moon March 28, 2014

Good old Bear.

MageB March 30, 2014

Great dog.....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.