Current Continuation in shiny things

  • March 28, 2014, 12:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lately my job is either overwhelmingly busy or overwhelmingly boring-- there doesn't seem to be a middle ground. Today is an Overwhelmingly Boring day. It's suspiciously quiet, and I'm all caught up. Obviously it's Currents Time.

Current State of the Microcosm as in this little world I have to spend my days inhabiting. Quiet. Peaceful. Poor AR has settled down a bit as far as her sick dog, after crying all of last week and most of this one pretty much non-stop, at least when she's been here. Especially surprising as they are having the dog put to sleep this afternoon. I think this is when I'd be crying all day, but she seems to be all cried out. She's been oddly cheery actually, and has had quite a few students come in and phone, and is being shockingly helpful with each one. She's not just sending them all to me or Mr. Organized like she usually does. Maybe working is taking her mind off the poor dog.

Current Always-Important Weather Report Rain, gloom, not-really-freezing as it's a hair under 50 degrees. Tomorrow will bring more rain and gloom and then.... snow. And blizzard winds. All weekend. It really seems like time for the Winter That Never Ends to move on to the other hemisphere. I'm starting to lose hope that's ever going to happen.

Current Anticipation Not spring, of course, since that's apparently never ever arriving, but I do have a good one. I'm going to New York!!! This is quite exciting - I haven't been to New York in ....30 years??? Other than a change-of-planes at LaGuardia once. I'm sure it's been that long. It was when I was married to First Husband and we were living in DC. His sister got married and we took the train up for the wedding. It's shocking how little I remember about it - I think we only spent one night, in his sister's teeny-but-really-cool-because-hellllllooo!! New York City!!!-apartment.

This time it's a Girl's Weekend, and I'm going with my cousins- Cousin E, for all of you who knew her from Open Diary, and her two sisters. We attempted to arrange a Girl's Weekend when she turned 50 (she's the oldest), which was... ummmmmm... nearly six years ago. Cousin MJ, who is the youngest of us, turned 50 last fall. (Obviously we are no longer "girls", but hey, Old Lady Weekend doesn't have quite the same exciting ring to it). Their aunt on their dad's side died last year, and they ended up with a TON of jewelry she'd hoarded/collected over her long life. Individually the pieces weren't valuable, but sold on eBay.... well, they made a shocking amount of money, and decided to use it to finance a fun weekend, because that's something Aunt Mildred would totally approve of. And they invited me along!

So the last weekend in April, we're headed to NYC! I'm flying to Baltimore, then catching a ride with Cousin E to Delaware where the other two live, and then we will drive into the city. Which I'd never ever in a zillion years do myself, but Cousin J is way braver than I am - and has driven into the city before. We're going to see Wicked on Broadway, but so far have no other firm plans. I'm quite excited -- to see New York again, to have a fun trip coming up, and to actually spend quality time with all three cousins- quite the rare event since we all grew up and developed responsibilities. No husbands, no kids!!! I think Cousin MJ especially needs this, as her kids are still pretty young- 7 and 11, I think. Cousin J's are teenagers, and Cousin E's are grown (the "baby" is in grad school). And mine are cats, so I don't need to escape them but it will still be a great getaway. From my...lack of responsibilities.

Current Amusement

alt text

This is a little blurry and hard to see, but Ken Fitlike, who some of you probably knew from OD, posted this on my Facebook timeline. It's a lovely pint of beer that he is sipping in Petershead, Scotland... which was brewed in Asheville NC. My home town, 80 miles from here! Asheville HAS in recent years earned the title Beer City USA, but that was still kind of a shock. What a teeny world we live in!


noko March 28, 2014

Go you. England twice and now NYC with your marvelous cousins! Can we do a barter deal on some of that quiet? I am about to lose my mind over this Comcast work phone fiasco.

Bryan Cranston was on Fresh Air yesterday. He's on Broadway now after finishing Breaking Bad. At least you can watch that during your everlasting winter weekend. And hang with the cats.

edna million noko ⋅ March 28, 2014

I heard the very beginning of that interview! I was kind of afraid of spoilers and didn't listen to it, though, so I'll have to listen after we finish the series. Which won't be long at the rate we're going. I know the finale was a Big Deal and have managed so far to not find out what happens- I'd hate to spoil that record.

FallingDog March 28, 2014

Wow, I forgot you were married before. Hell, I forgot I was married before.

ermentrude March 29, 2014

I have never even been through the airport at New York but I would like to visit one day.

That beer looks a bit light for my liking but I think the photo was taken in a Wetherspoons pub. The chain is having an international beer festival at the moment. X

edna million ermentrude ⋅ March 29, 2014

I like dark beer much better too- although I loved the bitter I usually had over there. Asheville has so many breweries now that I didn't even know this one existed, so I'm hoping to get to try it out soon!

Deleted user March 30, 2014

Wonderful about about your upcoming weekend. You Lucky Woman! Have big fun !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.