Lunch for Tuesday, 09/10/13 in Fud

  • Sept. 11, 2013, 5:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lunch for Tuesday, 09/10/13

Clockwise from top left:

  • hot dog
  • steamed rice
  • sungold tomatoes
  • fresh basil

  • apple

  • raw baby carrots

  • baked beans

  • homemade shredded wheat bread (no molasses variety)

    I am here to confess: Today I totally called it in. I was so tired last night and pretty much collapsed right after getting the kids in bed and taking a shower so had to scramble this morning. Fortunately we had one solitary leftover hot dog and beans from the weekend - we don't eat a lot of processed meats, but we keep a package of nitrate-free organic hot dogs in the fridge for those "oh crap" nights that we don't have another protein defrosted and ready to go. And in this case, an "oh crap" morning that I didn't have another protein lined up for lunch and was short on time.

    Mim asked for rice balls again but I didn't have time to press them out. I asked her if it was okay to just have plain rice today and she said, "Okay, that's fine. I like rice."

    Other things we always keep on hand are raw baby carrots, cherry or grape tomatoes, and fruit. Growing up we didn't buy a lot of fruit or eat raw vegetables (my folks always boiled them into mush, blech) so I try to always have both on hand for my kids if they want a snack or if we're pressed for time - which is often. Many nights for dinner I'll cut up some melon, or apples, or pears, and put a bowl of carrots on the table rather than cook something else on top of the starch and the protein. It's apple season here in Maine so there are lots to choose from.

    CONCLUSION: A scant amount of rice was left and that was it. Mim said she got too full again. Everything else was eaten except for one tomato "that tasted yucky, I think it was rotten. It was squishy and had a brown spot on it. I ate the other tomatoes, though." Back to the farm stand tomorrow, we're getting low on everything.


  • No comments.

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.