Lunch for Monday, 09/09/13 in Fud

  • Sept. 11, 2013, 5:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lunch for Monday, 09/09/13

Clockwise from top left:

  • corn on the cob
  • tomato

  • baked beans

  • homemade shredded wheat bread (no molasses variety)

  • steamed rice
  • steamed broccoli
  • raw baby carrots
  • chicken salad (roasted chicken, mayonnaise)

  • banana

    Most of this stuff is leftovers from dinner tonight, though Grandma and Grandpa came to visit this weekend and brought us a bag full of homegrown tomatoes! I tried a "never fail" bread recipe given to me by a friend and it was a huge hit - everyone loved it. I also got a rice mold for something like two bucks and it is a lot of fun, the kids enjoyed eating rice made into shapes and next I'd like to try fillings in them so we'll see where that leads. Whenever I get the time I'll shape the rice just to keep lunch interesting.

    CONCLUSION: Whoops, I totally packed too much food. What came home was the bread, which had one teensy bite taken out of the top piece, and the three rice balls, one of which looked slightly mauled but were otherwise uneaten. I asked her if she didn't like the rice and she said that she loves rice but that she was just too full. At least she ate the most important stuff!


  • Changing September 16, 2013

    Wow! My teenagers bento Boxes are the size of one half of yours and they probably won't finish it all! I don't know where they get there energy! Both are either Cheer or Dance teams and putting in 11 hour days at school, what with practices! They eat the same amount for dinner and never snack! I am SO learning from them about proportions! I'm starting to think that SWEETS cause hunger because they don't eat sweets like I do. Love your posts!

    Jane Says Changing ⋅ September 16, 2013

    Admittedly this day I over-packed as a bunch of things came home. Most days nothing does. My daughter is getting ready for a growth spurt, I think, but frankly if my kids want to fill up on vegetables and un-processed fruits then I'm all for it :) I think I'd be worried if kids as active as yours ate so little! Are you sure it's not just peer pressure? Teenage girls have it rough these days. My girl is only five so she's not feeling that kind of stress, thank goodness.

    Changing Jane Says ⋅ September 16, 2013

    No peer pressure for them! they are 10,000 miles from their schools, one from Japan and one from Thailand. They seem to cut ALL the kids out of the same mold!! I see very little size fluctuation in their countries. My wife is Thai, 37 and still looks 20! her 60 year old aunt also looks 20 except for the wrinkles in her face! Asians are SO lucky!! The Japanese girl just turned 15 and is a gymnast and plays 5 instruments. She goes to an all girl school. The Thai girl is actually my niece-in-law and does dance and sports and sings. I have 6 kids and NONE of them were as talented or mature as these two! They want to improve their English So badly but a few of the kids will take the time to try and understand their broken English. BUT... it's only been a few weeks! All in all it is a rare experience!! Your children look very healthy! Good job!

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.