"I'm not saying it's cancer...but" in A new beginning

  • March 27, 2014, 4:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So as I had said Tuesday night I wasn't feeling good. I woke up yesterday morning to a temp of 103.7. Yeah...perfect. I immediately took 800 mg of ibuprofen and texted my supervisor to tell her I wasn't coming in. A couple hours later my temp was down to 101, then 99.3 then eventually 98.9 all within a span of a few hours. I was like okay I guess I'll just get some sleep then. I got about an hour nap with Lilly and woke up and my temp was normal but just couldn't shake the nausea and headache and I knew I was severely dehydrated and needed IV fluids so I went to the ER. So glad I did because they gave me fluids and benedryl/reglan to get rid of the headache and nausea and I felt 100 times better. First, the doctor told me all my labs came back normal and that he would get my work note ready for me. A lot of time went by and the nurse came up and said she would get my IV out in a bit but the doctor wanted to come back and talk to me one more time before I left. I told her he literally just did two seconds ago but she was like "I know, but he wants to talk to you again". I was like okay...and waited what seemed like forever yet again. He finally came back and said that my white blood cell count came back low. "I'm not saying you have cancer but..you should get that rechecked with your primary care". Gee thanks! It's probably just my body trying to fight off whatever the hell it is I had but I remember when I had the actual flu when I was pregnant with Lilly my cbc came back completely normal as well as a few other times when I have been deathly sick so who knows.

I still have a ton of nausea so I called my pcp today to see when I should do the CBC recheck and asked if she could call in some zofran. That worked so well back when I had constant vertigo and nausea. I have had almost constant nausea for a couple months now and have mentioned it to my doctors but they haven't been concerned. I kind of figured it was from one of my migraine medications so we switched it to something different a few weeks ago. She ended up calling in the zofran for me thank God and I'm going to get my cbc checked on the 18th. That should give plenty of time for whatever this is to get out of my system.

I came home to quite the surprise just now. My new insurance cards came in the mail. You think I should start using it? haha. My work would probably kill me. Wonder how that works? They better not start taking double out of my check, that's all I have to say. Also I was approached today by my supervisor and she said I will have to keep track of PTO since I missed yesterday and may have to cut my vacation short in June. I may be down by a day. I had two people calculate it and one came up a day short and the other came up that I had just enough time. When I originally calculated it I had more than enough to cover one sick day plus vacation so I'm really hoping I do. I don't want to come back from new hampshire two days early just to come in on a Friday and work. That's so stupid. Last year I didn't have enough PTO and slid on by somehow. I should really have the choice if I have a doctor's appt if I want to take it as unpaid or use my PTO or make up the time. That is what kills me, not sick days. Between Lilly and I we have so many doctor's appointments that it just eats up all my PTO having to leave early or come in late and they wont let me just make it up or take it unpaid. It's the dumbest thing, so I end up not ever getting to take a vacation. I think I deserve at least one vacation thank you very much!


NeonLady March 27, 2014

That is scary! Sheesh.

Glad you are feeling better though!

It's_all_a_journey March 27, 2014

You've had constant nausea for months now? Omg how the heck are you functioning? Nausea is so unbelievably awful. It's one of the reasons I am not a big fan of pregnancy.

They sure do make you wait forever in the ER don't they? Feels like years of your life go by while you're just sitting there waiting

Fawkes Gal March 28, 2014

Geez, what a thing to say to someone. I hope you're feeling better.

~*loved&adored*~ March 30, 2014

Hope that CBC comes back good! That sucks they won't let you have unpaid time. You would think as long as it is enough to keep full time for insurance you would be fine. Or at least be able to do here and there.

Vee April 01, 2014

Hope you feel better soon. That's a pretty scary thing for the doctor to say, but they do it without really thinking most of the time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.