If memory serves me... in Just Call Me Your Lunatic Friend. Welcome To The Madness.

  • April 29, 2020, 3:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let me set the stage.

My task today is communicate my earliest memories of my parents. Sounds simple, right? Having suffered a stroke has shaken my confidence in my memories. Lets not talk about my being older now and those early memories have faded and no longer appear in technicolor in my brain. But I shall do my best.

First of, my early life was as a pastor’s son and that fact plays part in my memories. My family ended up moving around a lot all the way through my high-school years. On average we relocated every cople of years. As a point of fact, I graduated mid-term my senior year. I graduated after having attended 4 high schools.

Now, the earliest memories that really form in my cranium are from a little house in Pomona, CA on Gary Street. I remember we had a big lemon tree in our backyard which my Mo and Dad would pick the ripened lemons from and Mom would make homemade from scratch lemon merengue pies, which is still is one of my favorite, among several, desserts. Is it any wonder I’ve grown into a fat old dude?

I remember this home was where I first experienced an earthquake. I can remember feeling the shaking and then falling out of my bed because of the shaking.

I also remember the madness of my younger brother and while most kids feared the boogeyman in the closet or under the bed, my brother feared the “Bubble Monsters” that roamed the bedroom floor as we lied in bed. This straight from the mind of the guy who claims he is now a genius because of some quiz he took of Facebook. Yep, I told the simple fact that he is basing his intelligence based on the result of an internet quiz proves he is not even on the same planet as genius. shakes his head

All in all, I may not remember the details as I would like, but I do remember that I lived an amazing childhood with the most wonderful parents a guy could hope for. I’ve been a very blessed man. I am so grateful to God for that!

Hey tell those you care for that you love them and be fantastic humans y’all!

Now Playing: “Only Love Knows” by Brent Lamb


Valued Customer April 29, 2020

Mmmm... lemon meringue. I can only imagine what one from scratch with fresh lemons tastes like. drool

DE---Mr. Stix Valued Customer ⋅ April 30, 2020

Well, lets just agree that it is delicious! laughs

Shattered April 30, 2020

I love a good lemon meringue.

DE---Mr. Stix Shattered ⋅ April 30, 2020

You know it! That stuff is the best!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.