Right or Left and Oak Street? in God, With Skin On

  • April 30, 2020, 1:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Moral dilemmas are situations in which the decision-maker must consider two or more moral values or duties but can only honor one of them; thus, the individual will violate at least one important moral concern, regardless of the decision. Much like the old saying two wrongs don’t make a right…What will we die for? Who will we kill?
The trick here is what I consider moral you may not, but according to the definition, it would only be what is moral to the person involved. Some might say COVID-19 presents us with just such an issue. Strong support to go back to work while others are saying to do so will only prolong the spread of the virus. So which is the lesser of the two evils? I guess that depends on your situation.


woman in the moon April 30, 2020

My personal situation seems pretty straightforward. I am almost 74 and retired. I will stay home as much as I possibly can. One outing a week for groceries and perhaps other things. I am helping care for my 80 yr old sisterinlaw who has cancer. Most of my stress and decision making seem to involve her. So...
None of this is easy. Why did life that wasn't that good or perfect or reasonable, get decidedly worse? Or did it? It's easier for me to stay home if I'm told to stay home. Wear a mask? The grocery store GAVE me one. Stay 6 ft away - is harder - not that I am a person who gets close to people but in the grocery store with aisles that aren't wide and other people are there - it's hard. I wonder if I'm one of those people other people complain about who don't keep their distance? I try but maybe I don't. Oh heck. This is way too long.
I saw people going into the catholic church in town today - I was curious - it's Wednesday. Not a lot of people, just a few.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ April 30, 2020

Sorry to hear about your sister-in-law. As for why life got worse, depends on your political, religious, or conspiracy theory beliefs. The catholic are still having Mass I take it. I wonder if life will ever get back to normal?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.