Two More Weeks in Just in Case

  • April 27, 2020, 9:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today our governor extended the shelter at home for two more weeks. I’m not surprised, honestly. The reactions are mixed. Some of us expected it, others are furious. I know I’m lucky that I’m still working and still getting paid. I also know that this is gong to be around a while. I just hope people are reasonable and rational about it.
I worked up at school today, getting my classroom ready for summer. This involves moving my student desks and chairs out in the hall, and emptying the shelves so they can be moved out in the hall. Then they’ll strip and reseal the floors and move it all back in. It will be in a pile and I get to put all back up again. Normally this comes at the end of the year. I’m emotionally ready. This is different. I shed a few tears as I packed up the kids’ things that they had left and packed up my room.
A few days ago we did a trial video call with some of our kids. On of my kids messaged me today that she didn’t see the post and how sad she was that she had missed it. She asked if I would do a call with just her. So I logged on, sent her the link and we talked for over half an hour. Oh my gosh it was wonderful. She cried for a while, then she showed me all of her chickens, talked about what she’s been reading, every meal she’s cooked and what she wants to cook, anything and everything. She got a little teary eyed when I told her I had to go. (We only get a window of time to be at school.) She asked if I would do another with her later, I assured her I would. It did my heart so much good to have that call.
So, I’m sitting here with my shoulder killing me from moving all the furniture that I shouldn’t have, but I couldn’t feel better. :)


Jigger April 28, 2020

It must be so different with the littler kids. Most of MFK’s students are turning in some assignments, although often it’s crap, and only a single one has contacted him online, despite twice weekly “office hours.” It’s disheartening. I know it’s a small rural community, and they’re teenagers, and some of them are at least doing the assignments, but I think he misses them.

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ April 28, 2020

It’s really only a handful of my kids who are online. Most of them don’t have access to internet or a device to get on. They really aren’t doing much of what I put online. I do a daily art challenge. (A FB friend posts them daily. Simple little how to pictures.) They enjoy those. And the jokes and memes. I love my littles. Before this happened their were lots of hugs. I could never teach the big kids. I’m just not geared for it. I know MFK does amazing things with them. You’ve posted enough to show that he’s truly able to build a relationship with them. For that age, that’s so crucial.

terriberri April 28, 2020

i've heard so many teachers talk about how hard this school year "ending" has been, because the normal goodbyes for moving on weren't usual. from what i'm understanding, it's like not having closure? it makes sense, like there are still loose ends.

right now, our shelter in place orders are still until may 19th. i'm really hoping they lift, but also i get it if they don't. sigh.

Small Town Girl May 02, 2020 (edited May 02, 2020)

Edited

We are sheltered until May 18th. It's starting to get ugly here. Lots of protesting. Farmers and small business are facing ruin if they extend things any longer. They shut down a prok processing plant in Southern MN, the farmers are tearfully begging our governor to open. They're saying 200,000-300,000 pigs will have to be euthanized with no processing plant. They're talking financial ruin for farmers and major food shortages. It's so sad. Do you open too soon and have many people die? Or do you financially cripple the economy and peoples livelihoods? They're talking another great depression like food shortage if this goes on. IDK how factual that vs reactive that statement is. Who knows. It's not good though. I think they need to reopen before we have to face a bigger crisis later on.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.