A Short History Of Tractors In Ukranian by Marina Lewycka (REVIEW) in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • March 27, 2014, 7:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the story of feuding sisters Vera and Nadezhda, who find themselves uniting against a common enemy. Their 84 year old father’s new wife, thirty six year old Valentina, a woman who is nothing but trouble. In their efforts to get rid of Valentina, the two sisters embark on a journey of discovery into their family’s past.

I picked this up last Friday, from my favourite bookshop in this town. It was one of their “blind date with a book” series, and was curious with the brief description on the front of the brown paper parcel - “literature, father-daughter, mid life crisis, hilarious” was all it said.

I will be re reading this at some point - it certainly was interesting. Some of the subject matter, in particular the aspect about the new couple reminded me a little of something that happened in my grandfather’s life. But that is an entry for another day. This took me three days to read, in between other bits and pieces I had to do.

Pages: 326, including website acknowledgements

Genre: Fiction

Publisher: Penguin


Last updated January 01, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.