On food, groceries and sensory perception in the Age of the Pandemic in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 21, 2020, 7:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

First of all, let me say that I am more thankful than ever in my life to have enough food to eat and to be able to purchase more if I run low, which I am now. When I read about food banks nationwide scrambling to meet he needs of millions of newly laid off workers, I can hardy imagine the suffering out there in this Age of the Pandemic, where everyone’s world has been turned upside down.

I’ve been losing my sense of taste and smell for years now. I don’t know the cause but I’ve had a congenital nasal blockage all my life. Up until I started using nasal strips to help me sleep 25 years ago, I had been using nasal sprays for as long as I can remember, since high school at least. When I was traveling around the country back in the 1980s I have memories of that small ubiquitous container of Sinex next to my bed in every motel I stayed in. I imagine I was addicted to the stuff. That could have something to do with my loss of smell decades later. So bottom line, eating is not that pleasurable an experience for me anymore. I can’t taste much of anything except seasonings and certain foods like chocolate (a blessing since I’m a true chocoholic). I use my imagination and I can taste just enough to allow me to enjoy food to some extent..

Now, during the pandemic, when you take a calculated risk just going into a grocery store if you’re older than 65, I’m grateful for what I have and content eating for simple nourishment. Horrifying images and news stories of people hospitalized in often chaotic conditions for Covid-19 have made me very content to stay home.

I haven’t been to the grocery store in about five weeks now, and I really have been okay with that. It’s amazing how one can make adjustments in daily living habits including eating. I miss the fresh produce and buying cut flowers and the impulse shopping for new frozen dinners to try, but it’s no big deal when it’s just yourself and no one else to feed. In that regard I feel very fortunate to be single. When I was taking care of Mom I had to go often to the store because I was always running out of baby food which she lived on the last three years, that plus nutrition drinks.

I miss the friendly staff at my favorite grocery, which I still will go to even though I no longer live nearby.

To reiterate, news stories about the Coronavirus have so spooked me because of my age (69) that I am quite reluctant to enter any public space, including grocery stores. Very fortunately, and presciently for me, I bought some medical masks 15 years ago when it looked quite possible we could have a bird flu pandemic, and that was really terrifying. Forty percent of people died from that, and that hideous virus keeps popping up in bird flocks such as mass-raised chickens and turkeys. So I bought some masks and never needed them until now. They’re so old I’m not sure they even work any more but they’re better than nothing so I’m going to wear them. I did for the first time yesterday when I had to go to the auto parts store. The two employees behind the counter looked at me warily, or maybe it was me being paranoid. I can’t even wrap my head around the fact that we even have to do this in the first place. It was so surreal.

Okay, more my food situation:

I have lots of beans and rice. It’s filling and somewhat nutritious even if you’re using white rice.

No fresh produce for me now, but I have dried fruit, applesauce and large jars of sliced peaches.

I’m on my last Apple. I buy only Honey Crisp because with my major loss of taste these are the only ones I can enjoy. I don’t care how much they cost they are so good.

No bananas. Dried apricots instead to make up for lost potassium

Frozen dinners. Gone. Frozen veggies will last another couple of weeks.

I’m using a lot of canned vegetables before the expiration date. I’ll have to live with the higher sodium for now.

No butter or margarine, so I’m getting used to having my morning oatmeal with some creamer, syrup, a packet of Stevia, a little wheat germ and ground cinnamon. Oatmeal is my best meal now. Fortunately, I bought a huge box of it at Costco a couple of months ago.

About two years ago I bought on impulse a huge jar of pickled asparagus at Costco, and it’s sat on the counter all that time. Only a few more months until the expiration date. What shall I do? I have a more recently purchased huge jar of Greek salad I got at Tuesday Morning. I’m eating that now.

Instead of reaching for cookies, I eat a lot of salted and toasted pumpkin seeds, my favorite snack, and one that’s very healthy. I have a big bag of roasted almonds.

I have lots of trail mix, walnuts and peanut butter. Enough peanut butter for several months, plus a ton of Belvita crackers which are nutritionally more dense than regular crackers, and certainly more so than cookies. But I can’t eat them with peanut butter because that was Mom’s diabetic snack for years, and memories of preparing that every night are quite intense. Toward the end she was so tired she could barely hold them in her hand, and the next day I’d see half crackers with peanut butter which she’s dropped in the folds of the sofa.

Eventually I’ll have to go get groceries. I mean, that’s what you have to do to live. I don’t have a vegetable garden like my new friends. Oh, but I have a huge container of Orgain plant-based protein powder which I can mix with oat milk which I can get through Amazon plus small containers of orange juice. I can get my favorite cheese straw crackers and my favorite butter shortbread cookies through Amazon, too.

Foodwise, Im doing okay, though this is far from normal. In these strange times I’m glad, for me at least, less is more.

I guess I will postpone a little longer that trip to the grocery store. And to think there was a time not so long ago when I didn’t even give it a second thought.


Last updated April 21, 2020


ConnieK April 21, 2020

My son's girlfriend is doing my errands for me and what she doesn't buy, I glean from my garden. We eat less meat these days anyway. I'm baking more but there aren't food shortages here.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ April 21, 2020

I really wish I had someone who could shop for me. My brother goes to the grocery fairly often, but if I ever ask him to pick up something, he makes an issue out of it because he thinks I should go myself. He's probably right, but still... He doesn’t worry about the dangers like I do, and he’s in his late 60s also.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ April 21, 2020

We have not peaked in the south. Here in FL, we will not see that until mid-May. Siblings can't seem to keep themselves in a non-judgemental attitude. Your brother's dismissal of your fears means he thinks he's superior to you. I distanced myself from a brother like that. Too toxic. Check Craig's List for shoppers. Many people are out of work and willing to shop for you for a fee. For what it's worth, I think your brother is playing Russian Roulette with his life.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ April 21, 2020

My brother cares a lot about me. We talk every day, but we are as different as night and day. He has to work every day and is among people through his job, a lot more than I. I’m just extremely grateful I am retired. I do worry about him because, for one thing, he could frequent grocery stores a lot less. We have a very different views about everything except politics, thank goodness for that.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ April 22, 2020

Good to know. I probably read too much into your comment. Hopefully, your brother is one who will shake this virus off easily. With my immune system and age, I'm not taking any chances. A few months out of my life is doable if it means avoiding a plague!

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ April 22, 2020

I agree with you completely. I pretty good and spooked by this and do everything with great deliberation.

Lady of the Bann April 22, 2020

With the asparagus I would wrap some in Parma/dry cure ham and roast for 10 mins. Or make a quiche or have as salad. But that needs other ingredients. Could you ask your brother to pick up a few specific items when he next goes shopping? Like half a dozen items to keep you going.

Oswego Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 22, 2020

I can do that. He’s already found some rice for me, but sooner or later I’m probably going to need to venture out to the grocery at early senior hour and with one of my ancient medical masks and gloves. It’s a strange new world out there.

Cathy Oswego ⋅ April 26, 2020

That sounds like a pretty safe alternative. The store will have been sanitized, and there shouldn't be too many people at that time.

Kristi1971 April 22, 2020

I had a head injury as an infant. It was quite severe and no one knew whether I would live or not. The only side effect that seems to have come from the head injury is my lack of sense of smell. I've never had one. It took me nearly burning down the kitchen when I was like 11 or 12 for anyone to realize that I had no sense of smell. I've never had much of a sense of taste either, of course. I can definitely taste chocolate. I rarely use seasonings, because it's all I will taste if I do. I certainly understand that aspect of things.

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ April 22, 2020

I’m sorry you experienced that loss. My loss of taste and smell doesn’t go back too many years, so I use my imagination when eating my favorite foods. That and texture make a big difference. However, I really miss not being able to smell much. Pleasant smells are so tied in with memories from the past. My recall of those memories is not as good without that and would be much more frequent. But again, as In sure you’ve done, I cope and adapt.

Kristi1971 Oswego ⋅ April 22, 2020

In my case, I never had it, so I can't miss what I never knew. I hear people talking about certain smells and don't really know that it means from a personal level. I hear people talking about foods that I just can't taste at all and cannot consume due to texture, and I wonder how they can eat it. On one hand, it's interesting. When I hear about something that is supposed to smell yucky, like dirty diapers, I felt rather lucky I could not smell when the twins were born. :) Haha

Marg April 22, 2020

I have a terrible sense of smell too which I consider quite fortunate living with an old cat who tends to pee in odd places now and again! However I hadn’t thought I might have a different sense of taste as well - I have often wondered why I don’t get as excited about food as other people do or why I appear to be able to eat the same food for long periods at a time without becoming sick of it. Maybe it’s all connected - who knows? I’m glad you’ve adjusted to your new situation though - humans are amazing for their ability to adapt to whatever’s thrown at us! Hope all goes well if you venture out to the store :)

Oswego Marg ⋅ April 22, 2020

Thanks, Marg. I love to get your take on things. As long as I can get nourishing food it doesn’t really matter what it tastes like because I truly can’t taste much at all, particularly after the first bite. I do a LOT of snacking on nuts and toasted pumpkin seeds. Yum!

Yes, our dear, sweet old cat, Ginger, who we lost three years ago, had some pee issues, but I rarely ever smelled it and did a good job keeping her clean and on incontinence pads. Mom loved that sweet kitty and I’m glad she had her so long.

Marg Oswego ⋅ April 22, 2020

Did she actually pee on the pads? That would be amazing!

Oswego Marg ⋅ April 22, 2020

Oh yes! She was always on the sofa next to Mom. So I HAD to use the pads. She’d usually pee and then move to another part of the pad, but sometimes she figured it wasn't worth the effort and just lie in it. Then I’d have to get out my special cat cleaning wipes and then blow dry on low speed. She sorta liked that! My niece and nephew thought that was hilarious, but it worked! 😌

Marg Oswego ⋅ April 22, 2020

Haha I now have this image of Ginger purring away while you do the necessary on her nether regions with the blow dryer - love it! I think with Bailey it’s more of a protest thing - he has a litter tray he uses regularly but every few weeks or so he’ll pee on the carpet upstairs or on the spare bed. I’m convinced it’s a “I’m pissed off about something and this is a sure fire way to let you know “!! :)

Oswego Marg ⋅ April 22, 2020

I think you’re right. They can be very wily!

mcbee April 22, 2020

I am eating from the pantry and freezer as well, but have been lucky enough to order from the grocery and they will pack it and bring it to the car for me. I've not been willing to take excess risks, until yesterday with my granddaughter. They say treat everyone as if they are infected and that is overwhelming. Otherwise, I am doing good staying at home, and don't really care if my mask and gloves look like an overreaction when I do go somewhere. :)

Newzlady April 23, 2020

I keep thinking I should use some older things from the pantry and freezer, then I don’t. sighs Kudos to you for being so thrifty and resourceful.

Sabrina-Belle April 23, 2020

I think you are very sensible. If I wasn't living with my daughter I would do the same. Unfortunately her autism makes it very hard for her to adapt. She couldn't live without fresh food so we have to shop weekly. I haven't been able to get a delivery slot from any of the stores. We are very careful and the stores are not busy any more so it's not too bad.

Oswego Sabrina-Belle ⋅ April 23, 2020

I’m glad the stores are not too busy. I can imagine it’s hard for your daughter to cope with all these changes. It still seems very surreal to me.

Stay well and safe!

Jinn April 26, 2020

We do pick up from Walmart but often they just say things are out of stock and if you go in the store the things are there ; so I think their shoppers are not the best ; but it still cuts down the amount of time I have to be in a store . I still go in for produce and the things I do not get . I just keep over 6 ft away from anyone else and go as little as possible . It’s sad though ; these days getting to go to the store feels like being let out of jail. :-) . Each time I go I try to pick up replacements for anything I use and buy a duplicate. The news keeps indicating there may be food shortages ; so it’s good to have a little extra on hand . Also for your cleaning and any other supplies you use all the time. I take vitamins and iron too since I am anemic .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.