Can I just NOT.. Work right now? in My thoughts

  • April 21, 2020, 10:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I mean.. yah I work to pay bills and I have a family to support, but honestly at this time of COVID-19, I could be home and still make 750/week (because I would be maxing out the benefits due to how much i make normally). Even though this is only 60% pay for me, I can easily pay my bills with that. On top of all that, i have a good 5k in my savings, just in case one of my bills slips past.. This is the perfect opportunity for me and the family to NOT WORK, and not lose our jobs due to this crisis going on, and go on little vacations everywhere, or even just chill home, and rent movies, play, teach our kids academics, do a more in depth DnD campaign with my friends that can come over more then just 1x a week because the wife and I both work and only have weekends off… fucking so many people get to just chill home, sleep in, play around, enjoy their damn days, go for jogs and walks, and not lose their jobs or anything when this is all up. I’ve prepared for this kind of thing buy putting money in my savings, in a my “Emergency Bucket” for over a year now.. and now that it’s time to actually enjoy some free time off and possibly use that bucket AND get family time.. and I can’t… Am I alone in this or is anybody else out there feeling this?


~daydreamer~ April 22, 2020

What do you and your wife do?

I don't work as you now know not by choice and get the max benefits and it's not a picnic or vacation. It's stressful as all hell. Knowing 22 MILLION people don't have a job and that number continues to grow makes it much worse. More and more people competing for fewer and fewer jobs. And I don't feel good about taking those benefits. Because tbe reality is they're going to run out (states already asking for loans) and so many people who I know need it more. All of it is scary and stressful.

SelfPartnered ~daydreamer~ ⋅ April 23, 2020

My wife has a Masters in Social Work and she works with Home Health Aid, so right now she's a supervisor of people that go home to home, helping disabled and elderly with daily tasks (shopping, bathing, prescriptions, cleaning homes, etc.) she manages their schedules, checks with their clients to ensure that proper care is being fulfilled and such. I am an IT that works for Amazon, I work in the data-centers and we manage thousands of servers that host millions of websites and virtual servers for games, banks, and pretty much anything the internet requires. What about you? yah I listen to the news every morning and hear about all the job losses, if the benefits run dry it will become a whole different large scale issue for America.
It's not like we make a lot either, I only make about 60k and my wife only makes about 38k, and that's before we get taxed.. I know people making more on unemployment then we are right now, pulling in 1200/week (not even taxed) and i make 1900 after taxes, every other week. Can you see now why I'd rather just spend all my day with my kids and max out benefits, instead of forcing them into daycare and paying 1400/month for that? I would literally be banking so much extra, and have time off, and relax, and have kid time, and still do whatever we normally do on weekends as it is.

~daydreamer~ SelfPartnered ⋅ April 23, 2020

It shouldn't be possible to make more unemployed. The amount you get is based on a % and actually it maxes at I want to say maybe around 60k or so (as in taking a percent of that number... a low percent mind you). It's also taxed (whether you choose to pay that now or later is your call; I chose now). And then now we're getting $600/week on top of that but it's only temporary. I hate to say it but I kind of wish they weren't doing that. We're just putting ourselves into so much irresponsible debt but I also think it should go to those most in need.

Also I hate this misconception that one does nothing while unemployed. Again, I spend all day either looking for jobs, interviewing, or stressing about my future. I guess maybe if you had a job where there are tons of jobs and you knew it'd work out later, maybe you could be taking it easy. But most don't have that luxury, especially as more and more businesses close and more businesses cut back staff, etc. I don't know what is going to happen to these 22M+!!!

SelfPartnered ~daydreamer~ ⋅ April 27, 2020

Yah true, i can agree with you on all that. At least you're doing the responsible thing while home, most people i know are not, they are just treating this as a vacation and using their savings and unemployment to pay bills for the next 6 months or so.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.