3 more weeks in Hello.

  • April 17, 2020, 2:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today marks 4 weeks since my last day at work. And yesterday we were told by the government that we’re on lockdown for at least another 3 weeks.
Hardly surprising, it was hinted at all of last week.
Surprisingly, we’re all still getting along just fine. Eleanor gave her room a proper clean and tidy and John helped her put her nice ornaments and posters up, so she’s got a lovely, clutter free space to sit in.
Belle, on the other hand, won’t do anything. Her room is a tip and it’s driving me to distraction. She’s had a couple of mental health days in bed, which is fine by me, she usually gets up the next day 90% better. But I keep saying to her that she’d find it much more restful if she got rid of the mountains of junk. But she’s 17, she won’t listen!
Anyway, both girls are cracking on with their school/college work without much prompting from us, which is good. Eleanor has stuck her timetable on the wall, so she’s doing her lessons as normal, with proper breaks, and we’re having lunch based on when she does.
Rob is turning into a grumpy old man. Where we live, you can see over a popular congregation spot and I’ll often come down to him glowering out of the living room window, muttering about people sitting on the bench! It must be hard for him, not having his own space, but he’s cracking on with uni work, doing my vacuuming/washing up, sometimes cooking and playing Netflix or his games on the XBox. He’s also bought himself a Fitbit with some of his student loan, after he saw how much fun me, dad and Shellie were having playing Fitbit bingo! (Essentially it sets you lots of little tasks, and you can flip the tiles on your card as you complete them.) It arrived yesterday and he played with it all day, saying he couldn’t believe he’s not had one before! So that’s going to be a good incentive for us both to go out for our daily walk. Plus we’ve got the treadmill and the bike flywheel thing in the garage. I feel like a flipping hamster! 😆
I’m keeping myself amused by knitting and talking to various people on WhatsApp and Messenger. I’m in family groups with my own family, my own extended family and John’s extended family. Also my work WhatsApp, which was initially set up to keep us abreast with what’s going on at the distillery, but 95% of it seems to be pictures of people’s dinners.
John’s enjoying pottering about, doing little bits of sorting out, cooking, playing guitar and buying shopping for his family. He treated himself to some red geraniums last time he did a big shop, and although we haven’t got any outside space to speak of, he’s potted them up and put them on the pavement in front of our house. They look lovely and make me smile every time I see them.
Yesterday I drove for the first time in four weeks. We live very close to the supermarket, so I’ve not needed to drive, but John was going to do a big shop for his parents, so I said we could go in the car and get us a big shop too. It felt really strange, first of all driving and also seeing my town with hardly any cars and being able to park wherever I wanted! John was initially grumbling about me driving, but then he got into it and we ended up driving between all three supermarkets, before taking the stuff up to his parents’!


Lucretia April 17, 2020

Rob is gonna love his Fitbit, I cant believe he never had one either!

Bomb Shell April 17, 2020

Sounds like you’re all getting on great. I’ll see if I can find Rob and add him as a friend.

Bomb Shell April 17, 2020

I can’t find him 😔

Canadian Lass April 17, 2020

i need to get a new fitbit, mines not holding the charge like it used to, and also with the new phones, i am not getting notifications from you anymore :(
something to do with Huawei and fitbit not being able to agree on something or other.... it still connects.. it just doesn't notify like it did on the samsungs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.