voting for Biden in Talk Radio

  • April 14, 2020, 3:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Everyone who called the Bernie Sanders campaign a cult of personality are in for a shock when they discover that no one gives a shit what Bernie Sanders says about Joe Biden.

Bernie Sanders wasn’t the savior of the left, he was the compromise.

-Existential Comics


So, since I remain too cowardly to discuss on the other site, let’s talk about this and start with an aside. Me, in political debates, suggesting or asking if I am a Bernie Bro, just to see what kind of answers I get. Or if I even can get a straight answer. I have been thanked timidly for being so nice and civil, so I kinda suspected the prevailing assessment from having a discussion with me is that I am one of the better ones. It has to my surprise mostly been denied that I am, in fact, an actual Bernie Bro. If I’m in a personality cult, it’s a different, smaller, more reasonable cult than the bigger bro-ey-er one.

Is no one willing to call a real person a Bernie Bro? and if so what kind of trolls are these, and where are they, if not in my Bernie groups that I think should not be that different from me?

My worst interaction with Bernie fans have been with the independents. I considered myself a democrat after liking Nader in my too young to vote years then becoming more of a centrist after having wished it had been Al Gore and not GWB. I wrote Bernie asking to seek our party nomination for president and told him I was disappointed by the Obama administration. Since Sanders has been right all the time no matter how unpopular it has been, I did not think he would let me down.

I asked him to run in the Democratic party because I did not want a spoiler and I thought he was successfully “working within the system” which I hope is what is needed to win over Democrats who do really want to bring us the most ground-breaking gains from the left in health care and quality of life.

When Bernie said, “I will not be a spoiler,” I knew he would run democratic and the independents would be pissed. I got into terrible arguments in groups that turned into groups for ones such as Jill Stein and others. Those were who I thought the bros would have been in 2016, and I assume they are going with third parties as I did not see them return, and yet more gossiped about than ever in 2020. When I am discussing and at my most confused, thinking about this person and their conflicting statements, just wondering about how Bernie did not make the most sense for them and trying to be respectful as possible, the bros are inevitably used as a reason to prefer someone else. We just can’t vote for someone with a personality cult, so I just have to accept that they are out there still and resent bros ruining the Sanders campaign.

Still tough, not really feeling any love for voting blue no matter who because my vote is a little back-handed if I’m reluctant and sad. From where I’m standing, it seems a little insulting, what else am I supposed to do other than vote for the guy?? act fucking happy about it too?

Sorry, you don’t get that, this guy sucks, but I’ll vote for him, that’s the best you get, the way you handle this determines the next election. Demand for Medicare for All needs to be an existential threat to Biden campaign if he’s ever going to turn on his big campaign doners who want healthcare to stay and are profiting from COVID right now, so no don’t be fucking happy to vote for Biden if you still care about those issues more than you care about the party line.

So, back to what I’m commenting on,

Everyone who called the Bernie Sanders campaign a cult of personality are in for a shock when they discover that no one gives a shit what Bernie Sanders says about Joe Biden.

I give a shit about what Bernie Sanders says about Joe Biden. We need this man in the White House, to stop Trump presumably. I decided to vote Biden before that announcement, but really had I decided not to could Bernie Sanders change my mind? Probably.

I guess this is the other, smaller, more dogmatic Bernie cult, the change within the system type, the kind of person honestly supporting who Bernie has been for like 50+ years and would do whatever the fuck Bernie says because they trust him.... if that is not the majority of Bernie supporters…put some pressure on Biden, please.


Last updated September 11, 2021


Mr. Mofo April 14, 2020

I would vote for Satan rightt about now if it means no more Captain Bonespur.

synapse Mr. Mofo ⋅ April 14, 2020

Satan deserves better than to run that race

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.