Prosebox Corona Island Discs in Prosebox Desert Island Discs

  • April 11, 2020, 3:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I mean obviously:
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8OyBtMPqpNY
Because heck, it’s just so damn happy… and to be honest, whilst there’s been a lot of hand wringing from people I’d previously considered quite measured sane people, about how awful this whole thing is, when all we have to do is stay inside. With WiFi. And get paid (eventually!). I mean the grim reality is that all those things I thought I “didn’t have time for” are actually things I’m too damn lazy to do. That’s been an interesting revelation. I’m not too affected as it’s not that far away from my normal life. I usually work from home. Agentx usually works from home and we spend FAR too much time together to be remotely healthy.... but that’s our normal. Not having to do school runs etc is offset by not having childcare and having to cook every damn meal.... but really if that is the extent of the badness, I’m all good. I am missing Diane the grumpy coffee lady more than is healthy…

Music wise I’m also loving:
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-q4EVSp0l7U
This is more my vibe in terms of the crisis, we have just all got to get on and deal with it. LilSis was saying today she’d been out with her personal trainer for exercise and then got a coffee in Aus. I’m massively jealous. I want a coffee!! Nothing here is open apart from the mini marts, big supermarkets, pharmacies, and crappy takeaways… if I want a pizza I’m okay, but my fave pasta place who usually deliver is closed, as is the sushi restaurant. No coffee shops at all are open, not even mcds.

BigSis said she’s actually sleeping better because it’s kind of a coping mechanism - the stress means she has no option but go to goddamn sleep, so she’s quite liking it.


Complicated Disaster April 11, 2020

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZ2oXzrnti4
xx

Camdengirl Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 11, 2020

Oh good one!

DE_KentuckyGirl April 11, 2020

I've heard a lot of people say they're having trouble sleeping, but I am also one who is sleeping rather well during all this. Albeit with a few e very vivid dreams.

TheMoor April 12, 2020

Is Dessert Island Discs still on the radio? I think I would be useless on that show because I don't really rate my musical taste and I don't think I have especially strong memories tied to music. When I was younger, my computer magazine, did a feature called Dessert Island Diskettes which was a similar concept but applied to software. I guess I could do that or do it for podcasts.

history of love April 12, 2020

I do like a bit of REM now and again. They have a lot of decent songs. Maybe play some today in fact.
x

Camdengirl history of love ⋅ April 12, 2020

I love REM - their Automatic for the People album broke through when I was in school, but I saw them live a couple of times and they are ace....

hippiechica15 April 12, 2020

I remember when I first started "working" from home and was way underemployed and how awful that was, so in that respect I have sympathy for people thrown into that. So many are NOT suited to working from home...

But yes, other than that everyone with a roof over their head and enough food during all of this is supremely lucky. And that Jewel song really highlights the other reality of so many.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.