Five Years Today in Understanding the Unthinkable

  • April 9, 2020, 10:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today marks 5 years that Nick has been absent from our lives. Every June 20th goes by without a birthday celebration. There are no calls and there never will be again. Just a deafening silence that will never be broken. Celebrate and protect those around you. Tell them you love them now. If you are reading this please know you ARE loved.

This is what the prophet Isaiah says God wants us to know (one of my most favorite passages of the Bible):
“Can a mother forget her child and be without compassion for the offspring of her own womb? Even if SHE should forget you, I [meaning “God”] will never forget you. Look, your name is written on the palm of My hand.” Is. 49:15

Much is happening and I want to write of it, but am very busy with the matching funds drive held at the end of the month and trying to help people who need rent, food, and gas.


Wranglingal April 09, 2020

Prayers for you! HUGS

ConnieK Wranglingal ⋅ April 09, 2020

Thank you! Are you still out west?

Shattered April 09, 2020

Wishing you peace. I bet you guys are really busy with so many people being out of work.

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ April 09, 2020

Thank you. I'm a bit surprised that I'm not busier, but figure we'll get slammed next month. One of our donors has kindly covered our expenses, so I anticipate being able to help quite a few young adults. They're so grateful. It's really tough out there for low wage earners.

GypsyWynd April 09, 2020

{{hugs}} Mom sends love, too.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ April 09, 2020

{{hugsyaback}} Much love to you and your family, too. Tell Nougat Miss Connie said to let you sleep!

Ferret Mom April 09, 2020

I am so sorry. I know today will be a challenge for you and please know that I will be thinking about you all day.

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ April 09, 2020

That is so sweet of you. Thank you. I get through it because so many care about me. On days like today, I lean into that. I also know that you are one of those people. :)

Ferret Mom ConnieK ⋅ April 10, 2020

How did it go? How are you today?

Hey, you've always been very supportive of me when I've needed it. That's what friends do.

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ April 10, 2020

I'm okay. Staying busy helps. :)

Oswego April 09, 2020

Wishing you peace and solace.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ April 09, 2020

Thank you. I find the solace in the kind words of people like you and I have peace, knowing that 3 days before he passed, Nick took holy communion, after a long absence and that brings me peace.

Kristi1971 April 09, 2020

You are in my thoughts. Thank you for all you are doing to help with rent, food, etc for those in need.

ConnieK Kristi1971 ⋅ April 09, 2020

Thank you, Kristi. I hope you are well. The age group we serve (18 to 35) is oftentimes overlooked and the pandemic hits low wage earners extra hard.

Kristi1971 ConnieK ⋅ April 10, 2020

Yes, I agree, and it's sad. If it were not for my sister and the little I've been able to do for my niece, she'd be having it really hard right now. As it stands, we are doing our best to take care of our own in the way that we can. My oldest is getting some work. She works for a restaurant, and I think they are rotating staff to help take care of their take out service. Plus her restaurant has started selling meat packages and stuff to get use of the meat they bought. Crazy times. So I have been checking in with her to make sure she is doing okay, too. Thankfully everyone remains well so far.

Ragdolls April 09, 2020

(((HUGS)))

Marg April 10, 2020

A difficult day to remember - I’m sure the pain is still just as sharp sometimes and time only dulls it momentarily. 5 years is not long in grief terms. Hugs

ConnieK Marg ⋅ April 10, 2020

Thanks, Marg. Certain days are tough but I'm getting better at dealing with them. It's just a sad lump that rises from time to time.

Queensuzu1 April 11, 2020

Many hugs to you as words seem so inadequate. Think of you often.

ConnieK Queensuzu1 ⋅ April 11, 2020

I am SO glad to hear from you! Missed you. Wishing you a great holiday!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.