Life’s completely upended in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 8, 2020, 8:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Life is so quietly surreal these days that lying here in bed tonight I wonder if I’m even truly conscious of how different everything is now, entering the fourth week of isolating myself at home and practicing social/physical distancing every time I go anywhere, which has only been to walk for exercise at a couple of our parks here in Charleston. No other place have I ventured out to, not to my favorite stores, which are closed except for Dollar Tree, not even to the grocery store for three weeks as of Monday.

Everywhere there are deserted streets except for people out walking. A few cars. At first it seems like an eerie kind of quiet, but as the days pass living in this state of near suspended animation compared to our normal bustling lives, it takes on a calmer, more normal aspect. Of course that’s a coping mechanism. If you live alone like I do, and have for most of my life, it’s not too unreal. I’ve got my Internet, my books and magazines, my photography and enough food. I’m quite accustomed to being by myself. I have no dependents or offspring. I hardly care what I eat. I feel pretty good. I have great new, much younger neighbors who are looking out for me. They are busy renovating the house next door which they bought this past Fall. They are there, husband and wife, working together, young and enthusiastic. They give me hope. Yesterday they left homemade chocolate chip cookies on my back steps for my birthday.

And, it’s important to note, I’m retired. Two months ago I was released from ten years of full-time caregiving for my mother who passed away and mercifully does not have to live through this mind-boggling caronavirus pandemic, the likes of which the world hasn’t seen since the 1918 Spanish flu contagion swept across the world.. Can you imagine if my mother, who was 96 and suffered from severe dementia and diabetes, had lived to see his newly quarantined world where people are afraid to do something as basic as grocery shopping unless they have to? Would I have been able to get caregivers? What does Hospice do in pandemics? I couldn’t have possibly cared for her with no help at all. Merciful God, she was spared this, and I have a fighting chance now.

How on earth are people who are currently caring for loved ones, with myriad health and other problems, coping at home with them? And tragically, if they are in assisted living and nursing homes and their loved ones can’t visit, can you even imagine how awful that must be? Again, it’s not something I can even conceive of, as close as I was to my mother, and given how every day for years was taken up with her care. Or, to be old and have to possibly die alone on a ventilator in a hospital after being infected with the virus, struggling for days or weeks to survive, radiating an intense fear to the heroic front-line health care workers trying to save your life even as they risk their own lives with inadequate personal protective equipment. Hospitals on the verge of, if not presently overflowing.

It’s a staggering shock to realize how bad it could get because we weren’t prepared for this by any stretch of the imagination.

Now during these quietly strange days, I sit in my peaceful cocoon, my sanctuary on a quiet street in a medium-sized city, with a lot of new-found time to think and read and attend to dozens of projects I previously had hardly any time for. I often think what must it be like for stir-crazy parents and kids crammed into once adequately sized living quarters, trying to adjust as a group to homeschooling, new teaching roles for parents, and spouse or partners working from home if they can. I think about, again without being able to take it all in, the fact that there were ten million new unemployed in the past two weeks because everything has shut down except essential businesses. Was the start of the Great Depression in 1929 this bad?

You couldn’t even make this up. This is looking more and more like some advancing dystopian world in a sci-fi novel. Right now the center is still holding and people are clinging to the hope that this will be temporary, but there’s no way of knowing when the states of emergency will be lifted, or the stay-at-home orders from our governmental officials. Try to grasp that fact. We who have enough for the moment probably can’t imagine what it’s like to suddenly have no way to pay rent or mortgages, or buy enough groceries to feed hungry children, or pay bills. Requests for assistance at food banks are up eight-fold in a matter of days.

The news is nothing but Covid-19. Everywhere you turn. Everything else seems to have come to a standstill. Pollution, global warming, climate change — every major problem seems to be cast aside in our pre-occupation with this pandemic. Understandably so, but at great cost if we are not vigilant on all fronts.

My dreams are getting stranger and more vivid, something I’ve experienced for a long time now, but I think this will only intensify. Dreams might be helping us cope with a waking world which is starting to crumble around us.

As social worker Martha Crawford wrote:

“…We’re dealing with a very intense cluster of very primal, existential anxieties right now — fear of loss of loved ones, fear of our own potential death, fear of suffering, fear of watching other people suffer, loss of contact with people we love, We’re trying to keep our lid on and contain ourselves during the day and so at night, [dreaming] is the way we release that repression mechanism and start processing how we are making sense of these things....”

But is there really any way to make sense of this uncharted territory? This terra incognito?

Yesterday morning, Monday, was the start of another work and school week, but it wasn’t. I lay in bed not really wanting to get up, but noticing how quiet it was. No cars and voices of people. A bit later, after I’d gotten up, the garbage was picked up, I had my usual breakfast of a bowl of oatmeal, the mail was delivered, I constantly checked my email and was on the lookout for text messages. Everything seemed so normal. But it was a totally new normal with a quiet sense of dread that had to be constantly pushed out of my mind as I compulsively read one horrendous news story after another. Where’s the exit ramp? I want off.

Postscript: if you have Pandora Music, the Zen Garden channel is helping me keep calm and centered.

Sign of the times

Untitled


Last updated April 09, 2020


Lady of the Bann April 08, 2020

I was thinking of you and how your new-found freedom has been taken from you once again. We can only take one day at a time and its best not to stress at the way it is. It just is.
I am grateful I don't have to work. And now with stepdad in hospital I don't have to spend half my time running about. It's like somebody just stopped my treadmill.

Oswego Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 09, 2020

You will be able to take things more slowly and that is a very good thing.

I am so very thankful I am retired. This allows me to live one day at a time in the best sense of that precept.

ConnieK April 09, 2020

Your mom would have not noticed the quarantine since she wasn't leaving the house and the nurses are still visiting in-home patients. Happy birthday!!!

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ April 09, 2020

The nurses at Hospice are so dedicated and compassionate I’m sure they would have continued to help me with Mom when I needed them. At the same time, having anyone, including our regular caregivers come into the house would have been risky for both me and Mom.

Thank you for the birthday greeting.

Oswego April 09, 2020

You are so right, my friend, this disaster for humankind is a resounding wake-up call that we have to unite as a worldwide community to combat this pandemic that now plagued the globe. Many people will finally see the virtues of a slowed-down life and be more compassionate and tolerant of others. Many will not heed the warnings, but overall, civilization will evolve in a more enlightened direction.

Take care and keep safe!

mcbee April 09, 2020

Happy Belated Birthday!
I do think some positive changes will come from this current world wide emergency. I have been cheered seeing ordinary citizens rise to the challenge as our elected officials struggle to make the right call, or any call. I keep thinking of the expression...to separate the wheat from the chaff. Not in terms of people's lives, but in individual contributions to our world. This experience will, hopefully, give people more perspective about what is important and what is not.

Oswego mcbee ⋅ April 09, 2020

The small acts of kindness and compassion in these terribly strange and dangerous times are what make ordinary people heroes.

Oswego April 09, 2020

Yes, this is the time for ordinary citizens to show that we are all in this together. There are so many brave and selfless front-line workers who are the true heroes in all this.

Newzlady April 09, 2020 (edited April 09, 2020)

Edited

Happy belated birthday!

Why would they close a park of that type — doesn’t appear to have a lot of structures?

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ April 09, 2020

It’s really something. Police are out to see that people don’t go into the park and they are apparently breaking up any groups of people who congregate in groups along the Battery sea wall. I go to the the large city park and it’s closed, but I walk along the perimeter trail and keep my distance from others. Lots of other bikers, joggers and walkers. It’s a beautiful park. I park on a nearby residential street. Strange times we’re living in.

Marg April 09, 2020

Happy Belated Birthday! 🍰🎈🎉🥂 How nice was that of your neighbour! I’m hoping small kindnesses like that will be out in far more force through all of this and we’ll have a much better sense of community once we’re through it which can only be a positive thing.
Noticing the fact there’s no actual barrier in that park, would someone be fined if they were seen walking in it?

Oswego Marg ⋅ April 09, 2020

It’s a delight to have new neighbors like that. I’ve lived here for ten years and this is the first time I’ve known neighbors that are friends, too.

There are no barriers, but I frequently see police cars around the perimeter. People would be fined. It’s a strange world to be living in now!

Marg Oswego ⋅ April 10, 2020

Sure is!

Kristi1971 April 10, 2020

I've actually been thinking of you and your mom a lot since the beginning of this. I'm so grateful she did not live to see this. I have been having the same thoughts about my Nana as well. She was my girls' age during the 1918 flu and remembered the ordeal well from a child's perspective and then as an adult after the fact. This will now be carried with us for the rest of our lives.

Parents become teachers when their children are born. Yes, this is slightly different as we are used to it letting school teach our children these subjects. However, if we remember that our children have been learning from us since birth, it's really not that different.

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ April 10, 2020

You last sentence..wow. I really hadn’t thought about it that way, but you are so right. Puts a different perspective on things for me who never was a parent.

Kristi1971 April 10, 2020

And yes! Happy Birthday! What kind neighbors. Such a loving gesture.

Kristi1971 April 10, 2020

And I keep having new thoughts. I heard reports that the state of our planet has improved during this time with so many at home. China actually saw blue sky. I guess that will change again.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.