Day 13 in One day at a time

  • April 6, 2020, 6:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My little cat Bebe is sick. It seems like cystitis, she is going to the dirt tray a lot but producing very little. I had to do a phone consult with the vet yesterday and he prescribed antibiotics and pain killers. I had to drive across to the clinic (about 15 minutes), and phone from the carpark. The vet nurse then bought the drugs out and left them on a chair outside. Once I got the signal I could get out of my car and collect them (along with the hefty bill). She has never been sick before, and what a mission to get the stuff into her. I finished up doing the old crushed up pill in butter and wiping it on her leg, so she licked it off. Success. The pain killer is liquid that I have to syringe into her mouth. I was obviously somewhat successful, as she is looking a bit stoned now, fingers crossed it all works. In the midst of it the other cat, Booboo spewed in the bedroom. Oh joy. I didn’t get stopped on my trip to the vet, but I felt horribly guilty leaving the house. There were so many people out walking and cycling, ironically we may come out of this a slightly healthier nation.

If we stick to schedule I am about half way through lockdown. I better start finishing some of the ambitious projects I have started around the house. Thank goodness for video chatting. It has been a Godsend. That and my dear friend Terri who rings me everyday at 4.00 to check-in. I appreciate it so much. I skyped with Rich’s mum on Saturday. She is 90 and is so bright. Plus she said I looked pretty, so I like her even more. She is worried about me (did I tell you she emailed me to ask if I needed any money?) Sweetheart.

Saturday night I had a zoom get together with the widows group (the ones I usually have dinner with every six weeks). Far out they are full of themselves. One asked me about my job, but then they were off on how busy they are, how amazing they are, how amazing their partners are.
Yeah whatever. Next actual dinner they will get a few drinks in them, and we will get the real truth.....

I really want to clean my garage out while I have the time. But I am terrified there might be mice in there (give me a big furry spider any day of the week). Ok, off to have another scintillating meeting with my bosses via messenger. Wonder what amazing make work they have dreamt up for me now.

Stay safe my friends.


Ginger Snap April 06, 2020

Awww, Bebe! Get better! 💗

Marg April 07, 2020

I was the same last week - I’d had to go over to the vet to pick up medication for my cat Bailey (they operated a similar system to yours) then a couple of days later I realised he’d been sick almost every day for 4 days but it was dark brown stuff so after a telephone consultation with the vet she thought it better to bring him in. Took him over then after an exam she wanted to do blood tests so I had to leave him there then she phoned and I went out again to pick him up! I was convinced one of the neighbours was going to report me!! :)

bobbi01 Marg ⋅ April 07, 2020

Aww poor kitty, is he ok now?

Marg bobbi01 ⋅ April 08, 2020

Yes thanks - the solution was simply a prescription food but I’m having a real job getting him to eat it! He seemed to be ok with it to start with and I was dead impressed that the sickness and the obsessive drinking stopped immediately but for some reason now he’s decided he wants nothing more to do with it!

Firebabe April 07, 2020

Oh, poor kitty. I hope she feels better soon!

Since we can't take Balti to the groomers, I've had to learn to cut his nails myself. Ha ha, THAT'S been an adventure. Poor dog. 😄

Lady of the Bann April 07, 2020

I hope the antibiotics work. Is she very old? Sometimes tbeir kidneys pack in.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.