I smell of mushrooms in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • April 5, 2020, 8:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In an attempt to get food without leaving the house I was able to sign up for a local veg box, the kind that send a box full of fruit and veg each week but you can’t request anything specific. There was a box of wild mushrooms which I sliced up for a stir fry at lunch time. Now I’ve have an overwhelming aroma of wild woodland mushrooms about my being and it isn’t very pleasant 🤣🤣

So, how are you all? Enjoying life? Riddled with worries? Somewhere in between?

Since there are still a ridiculous quantity of knobs going out on day trips, there is a strong possibility that the UK will reach total lockdown. That would be the end of outdoor running. I really am making the most of it at the moment, getting out in the sun, exploring local routes and going ways I wouldn’t usually go because there are fewer people on those paths.

Seriously people, stop going to the beach and having picnics in country parks, you are going to ruin it for the rest of us who are exercising with caution! However, I could always go back to the Cindy Crawford workout video I used to do in the early 90s!! Why not eh?

I’m really making the most of this time to reconnect with R. Having time to sit and chat and giggle is so lovely. And learning to live with what we have instead of popping out to buy this or that ‘needed’ item. It turns out they’re not as needed as we thought.

I am also very fortunate that I have an Asda delivery tomorrow. I contacted my retired neighbours to ask if they needed anything. I received a long list in return 😂😂 I cant blame them!!!

L and I watched the National Theatre production of One Man, Two Guvnors. We both giggled and cackled through it, so much fun!! We both thought the dining scene lady was a cast member but weren’t so sure about hummus sandwich guy… it seemed kind of scripted but then I thought there may be two scripts; one for no sandwiches and one for sandwiches. It was definitely a take on Romeo and Juliet too. Of course, if you haven’t seen it, this makes no sense! 😜

Right. I need to make bread. Boy do my kids get through a lot of bread!

Tell me your positives of being restricted on excursions.


thesunnyabyss April 05, 2020

Wayne and I were just discussing the grey, miserable weather here and that it actually aids in keeping inside, if that can be considered a positive, lol,

making bread is always a positive too!

Happy Sunday, enjoy your run!

Daisy April 05, 2020

I suppose this beautiful weather we're having in the UK is just too much of a temptation for people, especially if they don't have a garden. But you're right, a day trip is a step too far. Good food, good weather, good company, life has it's good points.

~Twinkle~ April 05, 2020

Weve just been out for our daily walk, not too many people out. Total lockdown is scary but probably needed.

Deleted user April 05, 2020

Glad to hear you've had a good weekend! Yes, total lockdown would be such a bummer... the few will ruin it for the rest of us.

Positives: spending less money, having more time for personal projects, reconnecting with old friends, eating bagels... 😁

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ April 06, 2020

Bagels are always good!!

Jinn April 10, 2020

I still spend money but it seems to be all groceries and pet food :-( . I now realize how crap I am at meal planning . Guess I was way too much into grabbing whatever we needed every couple days or so . Not now. :-) I try to be more organized so that is a positive .
I have been spending way too much time watching the news and Netflix .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.