It is us who are gone in The View from the Terrace

  • April 4, 2020, 3:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to post a letter this afternoon. It’s the first time I’ve walked up the main road since the lockdown. It was so strange seeing all of the shops and cafes closed and boarded up. It felt like something out of one of those post apocalyptic sci fi movies. Even the pharmacy was closed, so I assume that some of the staff are ill, as it is only a small business. I decided to go for a short walk after posting my letter. I went up one of the side roads to a place where there is a wide green between the houses. There was a blossom tree and some late daffodils were still in bloom. The sun was out and the birds were singing. The human race is going through a crisis while the rest of nature just carries on.

Later I was listening to a radio show and the Tom Paxton song Whose Garden Was This came on. It’s about what the future may hold if we don’t care for our environment. In the future, in the song, there are no more flowers or birds and the rivers have been destroyed. The thought occurred to me that the opposite has happened. The flowers are still blooming, the birds are still singing, the river is as beautiful as ever. It is us who are gone, trapped in our houses, unable to celebrate the arrival of spring. Karmic justice perhaps.

We went shopping yesterday and found that The Range was open. The Range is a general store that sells everything from crockery to pet supplies but, because they also sell some food and household essentials like the much sought after toilet paper, they are still open. The Range also sells plants so we went in. Everyone in there seemed to be buying plants rather than household essentials. We found quite a lot of bargains and plan to spend the afternoon together in the garden tomorrow.

I was sitting in the garden this afternoon having a coffee when I was visited by our pigeon. He has been coming to see us for several days now and is very tame. Louise has named him Pickles. He will let you get quite close to him. I couldn’t help but think how strange it was that I could get closer to him than other humans at the moment.


wildflower24601 April 04, 2020

Being content when everything is going right is easy but to find happiness in the little moments in all the madness is the hardest and i will have to say you are doing a good finding peace in all the stillness.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes April 04, 2020

Toilet paper is an issue me. I have a rare and severe form of ulcerative colitis. I go to the bathroom 10 - 15x/day but because so many healthy people hoarded supplies, I can't get what I so desperately need, and with an autoimmune disease and being on immunosupressant meds and with respiratory disease, it's a huge risk for me to go to the store just to see if they have what I need. Tough times for sure!

Nature is thriving for the first time in forever without humans ruining everything. Here in the United States, things are quite bad and places like Los Angeles are seeing the smog lift for the first time in their lives thanks to the many industries that have shut down.

Additionally, animals that suffer from the destruction of us deforesting their home lands are out wandering the streets and cities just because they can.

It hurts a lot of people financially, I get it, but life is so much better, especially if you're planet Earth.

Stay safe out there!

Sabrina-Belle Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ April 05, 2020

Have you considered one of those portable bidets? I came across them on Facebook.
Is there no one who would go to the store for you. We have people volunteering in neighbourhood groups.
Good news about the smog in L A, there's always a silver lining.

Mr. Mofo April 04, 2020

When food becomes scarce, please do not eat Pickles.

Take care.

Sabrina-Belle Mr. Mofo ⋅ April 05, 2020

Don't worry we are both vegetarian!

Marg April 05, 2020

Someone wrote it’s like a message from Mother Nature - “See? I don’t need you - I can carry on perfectly well without you. In fact I do better without you”! :)

Sabrina-Belle Marg ⋅ April 05, 2020

Oh, I like that.

Jinn April 13, 2020

It’s lovely seeing nature refreshed since we are inside. I think the planet given a reprieve quickly tries to heal itself . We are destroying it :-(
I wish I could find some places selling plants here but it’s pretty much just essential supplies.,oh well, there is a freeze warning for tonight anyway .

Sabrina-Belle Jinn ⋅ April 13, 2020

Our supermarkets sell some plants. I've also found a few on Ebay.

Jinn Sabrina-Belle ⋅ April 13, 2020

I have never ordered from Ebay but I might this year .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.