Fingernails and Children's Tales in General Mental Anesthesia

  • April 4, 2020, 11:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been thinking about something lately…

Many of you over the years, have seen me with my nails painted; I’ve mentioned in posts why I do it, but I want to go into it a little further.

I’ve never officially signed up on the actual website until now, because over the last few years my friend wrote a GoFundMe page on my behalf since I’ve been dealing with life threatening (and continuing) health struggles. You can’t save anyone else, if you yourself are not around.

This is the page she did for me; all I’ve done is write the updates.

My GoFundMe Page

I hate asking for help, but she asked me to promote it as a thank you and how can I not when someone voluntarily goes out of their way to help you on their own? So asking on top of asking it was just too much. But I realize that, that’s selfish and selfish I am not. I’ve been representing Polished Man for years. A website dedicated to raising awareness and raising funds for child abuse, trauma prevention and recovery.

“A child dies every five minutes as a result of abuse”.

That fact has resonated with me deeply because I’m not sure how I survived 20 years of child abuse.

I have both friends and family who are social workers and I know that they do incredibly good things in their communities and beyond. I’m proud of them, but my personal experience with social workers isn’t so great. After one particular beating (and I got beat close to 300 days a year for several years) I finally had the courage to call a social worker. Keep in mind that back then, it was Yellow Pages and not quite so easy as today to reach out for help. I was bruised, bloodied; my face swollen and they came to the front door, two of them. I could hear them speaking to my stepfather (my abuser) from my upstairs window. They were there for 15 minutes and never once asked to come inside or to see me. When they left… I got the shit kicked out of me for calling them. That’s when I knew I was truly alone.

The one thing all children who are abused want, is to run away. I did (many times) and it eventually led to homelessness, which was a vast improvement over my living situation.

Now, however… where do these children go? (If any line in this entry stays with you, let it be the next one!) In this Covid-19, 2020, abused children are stuck at home WITH their abusers. They can’t run away, and if they do, they’ll put themselves in different, but similar dangers. The police, the military, the virus… While we’re eating and joking about life and social distancing, millions of children are suffering from unholy acts of horror and hatred!

Take it from someone with experience, if you run, and get caught (by police) they take you right back home, and guess what’s waiting for you when you get there? The beating of your life! (or worse in some cases). Shelters weren’t good options WITHOUT the risk of living in a viral pandemic.

So this cause has never been more important, and it warrants sharing, and sharing some more. If you can donate, that’s great, but if you can’t… you CAN still paint your nails and help spread awareness. The idea is to start up a conversation, and you’re saying, but I don’t leave the house these days! No, but you are posting online a hundred times a day. Show some colorful fingernails. Dad’s with daughters… I’m sure they’d love to help you out! ;)

And if that’s just not your thing, you can always help these children out financially.

Please, never underestimate how good you have it.

CLICK HERE TO DONATE / LEARN ABOUT POLISHED MAN

Painting my nails over the years…


Last updated April 04, 2020


Shattered April 04, 2020

I really admire you. You’re such an amazing and selfless person. Sending you lots of love.

Marg April 06, 2020

This has been a real concern since the lockdown - how many people are ‘stuck’ with abusers and are unable to get away. Even to the extent of how school was often a haven for an abused or neglected child to get needs met or realise they weren’t worthless and now that’s been taken away as well.

Leanne 🌈 April 07, 2020

Good to see one of your entries dude. Thanks for sharing you have such a beautiful soul dude. Take care of you (((Hugs))).

BTW That second photo of you has a Dee Snyder rock star look to it. Loves it ❤.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.