Homework, schoolwork whatever work! in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • April 3, 2020, 6:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just feel like L is being overloaded. No matter how much we do each day, more is set, more than she has done. I’m not working her stupidly hard. Each day is maths and English, some form of exercise and one or two other subjects. The school expects the kids to follow their timetable each day. I say bollocks to that, at home she’s able to use that bubbling energy that gets her into trouble at school. She can be halfway through a piece of work and I see the fidgeting start so I tell her to go in the garden and run around for five.

At school the fidgeting continues and she ends up in trouble. And that’s her learning style, short pieces of really great work interspersed with mad trampoline jumping and a few keepy uppies. If she has to sit for a prolonged time, the level of work goes down. shrugs

But if she was home educated I wouldn’t be able to give her the dedicated time that I’m doing right now because I would also be working. While T can be trusted to get on with it, I would have to sit on L to get the work done.

Hey Ho. At least the sun is shining today. And it’s Friday! Yay! We’ve nearly caught up on the work that needs to be done by the end of today… but we won’t do it all 😜


thesunnyabyss April 03, 2020

I wonder how many people will switch to permanent home schooling after this, I know it's not for everyone but it sounds like you are doing a great job, and with a less restrictive structure, hopefully L will get lots done,

be well! stay safe!

Jinn April 10, 2020

I do not think the school setting is great for every child . It makes them have to conform too much and if they don’t , they are punished emotionally at the very least . I think it’s very unfair of the schools to pressure parents so much . What about parents who are essential workers ?

colojojo April 11, 2020

I get that they are trying to push education on students at home right now because they don’t want them to be too far behind next year... but at the same time, this drastic change is not only stressful for parents, but the kids too! It’s a huge change in routine and I think that’s ridiculous that you’d get a phone call if they fell behind.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.