Sad news in The View from the Terrace

  • April 1, 2020, 1:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I heard yesterday that my friend, Tony, who was in the nursing home following a diagnosis of Altzheimers 2 years ago, died yesterday morning. I don’t know what his illness was, just that his wife, Irene, was not allowed to visit him when he was ill. We have known him for almost 20 years through our John Denver club, he used to host the music at get togethers. He was a good friend, an Irishman, very funny. He always sang Fields of Athenry at our music evenings and that song has been going through my head ever since I heard the news. We will miss him. If he had left us in different times there would have been a big funeral but that is forbidden at the moment.

I am amazed at how stupidly some people are still behaving. Louise took the dog to the park yesterday. There was a man there with a toddler allowing her into the children’s play area to play on all of the equipment. Then the child saw Billie and shouted ‘doggie!’ and began running to her. Louise waited for the father to call the child back but instead he asked if it was Ok for her to stroke the dog. Louise told him that the dog is fine but it’s not Ok because of the virus and the man gave her a look and walked away.

Louise and I are watching Anne with an E on Netflix at the moment. We are really enjoying it. It reminds Louise of Little House on the Prairie which is her favourite programme. It is set in around the same era although the original book, Anne of Green Gables, was written much earlier. It is good to get out of our world and into an entirely different one for an hour in the evenings.


Last updated April 01, 2020


JustSurviveSomehow April 01, 2020

That is terribly sad about your friend. I hope they are able to have a funeral/celebration of life for him once things settle down.

Marg April 02, 2020

I’m so sorry about Tony - I hope he wasn’t aware that Irene wasn’t coming to visit.
It’s great when you can find a series like that to distract you from the reality we’re in just now :)

Jinn April 13, 2020

I am sorry for the loss of your friend.
I love Anne !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.