Today in Meeting Mr. Jesus Christ

  • March 23, 2014, 11:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Nice services and studies at church today. I'm not sure what got into the pastor but he carried on with church for nearly an hour and a half, enjoyable for me. Seems his usual "get them out the door in time for lunch" doesn't suit me so well. I'd rather hear more lengthy preaching and study on a subject. Lord knows I'm not going to starve to death anytime soon. Just the way we Baptists are, always eating and always praying.

I didn't sleep at all last night, finally fell asleep around 5:30 this morning so the 7:30 alarm wasn't my best friend. Still, got up and ready on time. This afternoon when I got home I crawled in bed for a nap, set the alarm and at 4:30 my ride called from the driveway, waiting on me. I was still sleeping. Don't know if I didn't hear the alarm or if it didn't go off but I stayed home. I was dreaming about how tired I was. Crazy.

Had a text message from Ryan when I got home from church, said, "Well, I'm officially in legal possession of a fiancee as of this morning. Thought you might want to know!" Very humorous for his stoic self to talk like that. Naturally I called to congratulate both Ryan and Jessica, ask if she squealed like a mouse when she saw her ring and other Mom kind of questions. They were both happy, getting ready to go out with her parents to see Porgy and Bess. Call me jealous on every count.

I managed to wait for Jessica to announce her engagement before I said anything except here on Prosebox, but once she did I posted on Facebook, photos included. I'm so happy for them. I've discovered I'm also happy for me. I didn't realize I'd have so many feelings about gaining a daughter-in-law. I love her so much all ready, this opened a floodgate of permission to go ahead and feel those feelings without fear of holding back. I've also had a few rounds of emotions concerning being the single parent as Ryan moves on to a new phase of his life. This is just another time I wish Rory were here to see his son's life moving on, knowing how very proud he would be. Lot's of tears I've shed today, most have been happy, some because life has a way of moving on, not getting lost in the memories but celebrating the joy is what I do. Sharing pictures of course. This time Miss Jessica is wearing that beautiful ring.

Happy Mom, out.

 photo RyanandJessJuly272013.jpg

 photo Thering.jpg

web stats


crystal butterfly March 24, 2014

Spinster March 25, 2014

Congratulations. Beautiful ring.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.