High Fidelity in Ultimate Randomness

  • March 24, 2014, 8:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not even much of a title for this entry, but if you have seen the movie, you probably at least recognized the title. And if you recognize the title and have read anything else I wrote, you can guess how this entry ended up here. Still, for all of the newbies, I will let you in. In any case, I have been a fan of High Fidelity for years. It is the quintessential romantic comedy written by guys for guys. Women, if you really want to know how guys think, watch this movie. Guys, if your lady wants to watch a romantic comedy, this is a viable option. Originally based off a book which was made into a movie in Britain and then remade for the 90's in America, it is the story of Rob, played by John Cusack, a man who has been unlucky in love and can't seem to figure out why. After his most recent break-up, Rob recounts the tales of his Top Five Most Painful Breakups. Allison Ashmore, Penny Hardwicke, Charlie Nicholson, Sarah Kendrew, and his most recent breakup, Laura. Just realized you never really hear her last name much, if at all. This is all set amidst the fallout from the breakup and Rob's broke record store, Championship Vinyl, where he works with his two friends, Barry (Jack Black) and Dick (Todd Luiso). Their lives revolve around coming up with Top Five lists for everything from songs about death to things Rob misses about Laura. It is a fairly realistic portrayal of what most breakups are like. Of course, the fact that they end up back together after the death of Laura's father and rebuild their relationship is the easiest way to tell that this is a story and not real life. Real life does not have these happy endings. In any case, this is another personal favorite movie of mine that tends to be a comfort movie. Funny thing was that I was just talking about it to a friend the other night and then, all of a sudden, it shows up on cable. I've watched it twice since this morning and it is still great. Of course, with my situation at home, it is not a surprise that this movie is one of my comfort movies. I would love if things actually worked out like that in real life, but obviously, they do not. I am really not sure what to make of things anymore. I want to fight back, get myself together, but I really am not sure that it is gonna happen. Some days, it seems inevitable that I will be ok and then others, I can barely move. I know I need to get myself together and I have everyone behind me, even my ex, who is one of my biggest cheerleaders when it comes to my happiness, but I really have a hard time seeing my way out of all of this. Anyway, enough of my bitching. Watch the movie. You won't regret it.


Indie_Indeed March 24, 2014

For me it just happened I kept telling people I wasn't ready etc. and because me and my ex haven't been together for a year I thought when will I feel normal and then it happened. Just like wham bam--I was ready to move on/I felt whole finally.

history of love March 24, 2014

I love this movie and can quote large parts of it off the top of my head. I also know what it's like to feel like you can't move/feel like everything is messed up.

justapeak March 24, 2014

A favorite movie of mine as well

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.