It’s all too real in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • March 27, 2020, 9:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t believe I’m writing this, but the worldwide virus pandemic has really come home to Charleston. Stay at home. All but essential businesses closed. Restaurants closed. Tourists gone. Streets once bustling now empty. Is this for real?

I’ve basically been home the past eight days except for walks in the park and now I hear that’s being closed. I’ll have to walk around the neighborhood and use my exercise Stepper. I may go to the early opening senior hour at Publix next Tuesday. I have plenty to eat, but I miss my fresh fruit such as blueberries and bananas. I mean, I don’t HAVE to have them. Is it worth risking my life over? (Again, I can’t believe iI just wrote that. Tell me I’m dreaming!).

Everyday life is getting more and more surreal. It’s way beyond strange. As they say, “You can’t make this stuff up.” I always thought truth was much more interesting than fiction. Now it’s much stranger than fiction. In a week our “booming” economy (translation: booming, through-the-roof stock market and rich getting richer economy) has been changed forever. The stock market has tanked by a third in one week. The powers that be are getting very frightened. There’s massive, instant unemployment. Schools will be closed possibly for the rest of the school year, though here they’re hoping for a May 1 re-opening until the summer recess. Bizarre. Unreal, but real it is. Can you imagine modern parents having kids home six months out of the year, maybe longer? Maybe not. No one knows anything anymore.

What will save us from this pandemic? Whoever would have thought?? We’re in uncharted territory. Terra incognito. Is it the calm before the storm? Everything’s so eerily quiet when you go outside and walk around. Even when I go out on the porch at 2am, which I frequently do, Maybe I should say “calm.”

A week ago I wrote this to a friend: “I’m feeling a kind of disassociation from the everyday world that is now becoming bits and pieces of memory of how things were. On the surface things may appear normal, but they really, really aren’t. I’ve been having my usual strange and inexplicable dreams. [Maybe now I really should write them down. Maybe some answers are contained within them]. It’s more lonely and quiet in this house than I thought it would be.”

Last night thanks to technology I Face-Timed with my sister, brother, brother-in-law and nephew. It fet good to be connected and see each other when we can’t visit in person. But this also is strange and unusual. Why haven’t we done this before. Is this what it takes?

My brother sent me this quote from a novel and it reaffirmed what I’ve been thinking — they we’re all gong to be changed in some fundamental ways by this experience. We’re going to learn a lot of lessons. A new world will dawn (hopefully) and a realization that we’re all in this together. We all share this one fragile planet. We need to make significant advances in Inteligence and civilizing behavior. This pandemic may end up forcing the process whereby we finally become more compassionate, enlightened beings — if we survive, that is.

From a novel about the 1830-1 Polish rebellion against Russia by the French-Irish writer Kathleen O’Meara:

“And people stayed home…
And people stayed home
and read books and listened
and rested and exercised
and made art and played
and learned new ways of being
and stopped
and listened deeper
someone meditated
someone prayed
someone danced
someone met their shadow
and people began to think differently
and people healed
and in the absence of people who lived in ignorant ways,
dangerous, meaningless and heartless,
even the earth began to heal
and when the danger ended
and people found each other
grieved for the dead people
and they made new choices
and dreamed of new visions
and created new ways of life
and healed the earth completely
just as they were healed themselves.”

David Kessler says what we are starting to suddenly experience is grief for a way of life that is now lost, temporarily, permanently? For how long?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=pSOZAnbzFuA


Kristi1971 March 27, 2020

That is a really good video. Just this week I read an article interview with him that was similar, but seeing and hearing him talk about it is like another dimension of the article. Thank you for sharing.

Sabrina-Belle March 27, 2020

I love the quote by Kathleen O'Meara, food for thought indeed. It's all very strange. I am staying home most of the time but have to go out for food because you can't get a delivery as all of the slots are full for weeks. It's difficult with my daughter being autistic as change in routine is so hard for her.
Stay safe in these difficult times.

A Pedestrian Wandering March 27, 2020

Even if we get pushed a little more towards compassion for others, when this is all over, the world will be a better place. I think the degree of loss we experience will affect the outcome. Thanks for posting the video.

mcbee March 28, 2020

I am hopeful that the changes to our way of life will all end up being positive as we go forward. Of course, I've always been a big believer of personal space in public, but I also love seeing more people finding recreation outside and off the internet.

Marg March 28, 2020

I agree - I think this is going to change us all for the better and make us much more aware of what’s really important and what we’ve been taking for granted all this time.
And I also find it sad that it’s taken a pandemic to make families stay in better touch with each other when we’ve always had all that technology at our fingertips!

Oswego Marg ⋅ March 28, 2020

Yes. We’ve taken so much for granted. The smallest conveniences now seem priceless to me. As for Face-Time, I really regret not using it more when Mom was alive, but there are other regrets, too, that I must not dwell on. I did the best I could for her.

Take care and keep safe and well!

Marg Oswego ⋅ March 28, 2020

You absolutely did and don’t let anyone say otherwise!

Newzlady March 28, 2020

We are not completely shut down but nearly so. It is eerie, indeed.

ODSago April 03, 2020

Thanks so much for the quotation. Yes, your life is worth more than blueberries. Here we can call orders in and have delivery to the house or to the car in the parking lot. Lots of blueberries must be exchanging their shelves. From the store to home. Be safe and continue your wonderful commentary here.

Deleted user April 05, 2020

I didn't like watching bizarre science fiction movies very much, and now we're in it ourselves. Take care!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.