Flash Friday 3-21-14 This isn't the first time *EDIT* Second *EDIT* in Flash Friday

  • March 23, 2014, 1:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“What’s wrong with him?”

“He wrote a book.”

“Shit.”

“I know, right?”

“What kind of book?”

“Novel.”

“Shit.”

“Right? I guess it makes some sense to invite trouble, keeps trouble from crashing the party.”

“Can I talk to him?”

“You can try, you don’t need my permission.”

Huh. I slip across the dancefloor like hells own power forward with a puck full of eternal hat-trick. No, hang on, I just mean I don’t need permission.

“Mr. Jones.”

“Huh?”

“Mr. Jones?”

“No.”

“Yes, I’m Mr. Jones, and you …?”

“I wrote a book.”

“Oh, so you’re the one.”

“Did you want to have sex?”

“Well yeah, eventually.”

“I mean with me.”

“Oh. No thank you.”

“Then what the fuck do I need you for.”

“Heh. Yeah, right?”




EDIT




“Circus come round Circus come round Mr. Jones he go down Down to shaky town.”

“Why does he keep doing that?”

“Withdrawal.”

“I know, but what does it mean?”

“Withdrawal.”

“I don’t ---“

“You ever want something so bad you ---“ she growled “---and ---“ she snarled and snapped at the air with her teeth “--- and you just can’t quite grab a hold ---“ she grabbed fistfuls of air and then looked into her empty hands like there was supposed to be something there “ ---well.”

“?”

“That’s Mr. Jones and …” she pointed at the novelist on the floor doing the funky chicken muttering ‘circus come round’ “…that is shaky town.”

“Oh. And the circus?”

“Meter. In a few hours there should be three circus come rounds, middle of next week,maybe, three Mr. Jones, but the middle one will be a ghost, a harmony, a backup. When the band kicks in and brings it all home, well, then …”

“What? Then what? Are you trying to make me the fool? What?”

“Then it starts all over again. Where have you been?”

“Huh. Well I thought I’d been to shaky town but obviously that doesn’t mean earthquakes.”

“Um, yeah it does. It just doesn’t usually mean earthquakes. And ---“ she whooped a little, pawed at the sky “… it was a rhetorical question.”




Second EDIT --- shit, if it's not a circle of fifths its the law of threes. This doesn';t need an end, but it needs a third. Shit.




“What’s wrong with him?”

“He wrote a book.”

“Shit. How do you know.”

“I was just there, um, here, it’s come around.”

“The book?”

“The conversation.”

“Oh. It’s my first time. I think, I’m pretty sure it’s my first time … um, he didn’t like write a Beckett play or anything, right? I mean, no, he’d have to Beckett and he’s dead, both of them, all of them, it’s just … I don’t know this is the kind of shit I’d be saying if …”

“No. Shut up.”

“Ok. What’s with …?”

“Withdrawal.”

“Ok.”

“What?”

“Nothing.”

“Go away.”

“No.”

“Shit.”


Deleted user March 23, 2014

Umm... I think I got lost somewhere in there and missed the point :-)

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ March 25, 2014

You might have gotten lost in there but you didn't miss the point, I mean, I don't think there's really a point in there. I was just playing with perspective. Flash fridays wouldn't be much of an exercise for me if they were purpose driven. If there's a point in there it's accidental. Or, you know, the point is more general, like 'play with flashes, they aren't being graded.' Often it doesn't make for good reading.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.