Oh go on then; survey in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • March 24, 2020, 2:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What is your favourite accent?

I really don’t know. I definitely don’t like the one where we live, and L uses it with her friends!! I like when Spanish speakers speak English, it has a lovely lilt to it.

Can you do any other accents other than your own?

I’m a bit of an accent sponge. My renditions aren’t perfect but they’re not too bad. Except welsh. I can’t do welsh!! Wherever I live I will just absorb the accent (except here, I totally reject this accent 🤣).

What does your mother nag you about?

My mum never nagged me as an adult. When I was a child it was the usual: tidy my room and do my homework. I wish she could nag me, it would mean she was here.

Have you ever been in a position of authority?

You mean apart from vice chair of toy library? I guess, as a TA I had authority with the kids but I’m not a “Do as I say!” type of authoritarian.

Do you ever count your steps when you walk?

Not officially; my phone counts my steps but I don’t always carry my phone. I did, once, count all the steps I did running, just to find out how many miles would equal the golden (and rather arbitrary) number of 10000. Just in case you’re wondering: 5 miles!

What’s the scariest movie you’ve ever seen?
I used to like a good scary movie until I had kids. Then those characters became people’s children and I can’t watch them! The scariest has to have been Blair Witch. Totally brilliant film!

What’s your favourite kind of soup?

Whenever I was ill as a child my mum would bring me Heinz tomato soup to eat in bed on one of our brown rays with the gold edges. Such safe memories. I love making soup though, it’s usually made of all the veg that’s on its last legs and rarely the same twice!

When was the last time you got a haircut?
A couple of months ago. I’m growing it though, so it’s not a bad thing that I won’t be able to have it cut for some time.

How old were you when you got your driver’s licence?

I got my driving licence sixteen days after my twentieth birthday. I didn’t take naturally to driving and it took an incredible amount of patience on the part of my instructor!

Roughly how many people live in your town?

215800 was the last count in 2014 but it has definitely grown since then. It was that year that R, the girls and myself played in a huge field of snow which is now a housing estate.

How often do you clear your browser history?

Do what now..? Seriously, on the laptop i have to go through all the browser clearing, virus checking, malware obliterating etc… before I use it because no one else ever does!

Is it okay for guys to wear pink?

Definitely! If he’s straight it just shows how confident he is and how much he likes to buck trends. My kind of guy 🙃

Which of your relatives do you get along with the most?

My siblings. We rarely get together all together although we did a few weeks ago, but we just blend in and get on. We have a siblings WhatsApp group and are forever nattering on it. There are four of us. Big Sis, Big Bro, me and Li’l Sis.

Which is worse, being in a place that is too loud, or too quiet?

I don’t really have any sound requirements. I can block out too much noise. I remember our neighbour, growing up, could watch TV while us kids were shrieking around the house. She just blocked us out. I imagined it to be a great superpower but, actually, I’m a dab hand at it now!! However, I also love the tranquility of being in a large open space with just the natural sounds to accompany me.


thesunnyabyss March 24, 2020

neat survey!

Deleted user March 24, 2020

Interesting stuff!

How do you feel about driving now?

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ March 25, 2020

I love it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.