Lovely Weather In Texas in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • March 22, 2014, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I decided I wanted to start out with something positive and decided I would mention the weather. It's about 70F here, and sunny. Very nice day. I had to leave work yesterday due to an on the job accident. Not major, I just got pulled off balance and felt my back kind of "pop". This was followed by pain radiating down my left leg, so I did a workmans' comp report and left to go to the doctor. The doctor's office couldn't see me yesterday, he was booked up, so I went this morning, missing work, and they couldn't see me because I don't have a claim number filed yet. So, I missed the last two days of work, and then my four days off are coming up...so plenty of time to get things done here. I don't think the back thing is going to be anything to worry about, I'm just erring on the side of caution. Two years ago I ruptured two discs in my back and it was the most awful pain I think I've ever had. I worked as a police patrol officer on a broken hip; Iwent back to work once loading freight, straight from having my broken arm casted; I returned to work two days after abdominal surgery with a thirty-two inch incision and drainage tubes hidden in my clothing for heavens' sake. But the back pain put me down for the count, so I am leery of allowing that experience to be repeated. Anyway, after leaving the doctor, I stopped at the grocery to pick up a few things for supper, then the gardening center for supplies for my burgeoning vegetable garden. So far everything is still alive, we'll see if anything bears fruit (well, vegetables actually) since I haven't gardened in years. I'm a bit rusty at it. Got supper cooked, did a load of laundry, cleaned the yard, got number two son awake, fed, and off to work, so it's been a productive day, but my back* is* reminding me that I should take it easier for a few days right now. I'll be waking Gail up in a few minutes so she can get ready for work and then I'm going to sit down and read a book or watch a movie.
Tomorrow I'm going to church for the first time in three weeks, so that'll be fun. I miss my church family when I'm not there. Afterwards, I think we'll go walk around a flea market or something equally boring for a little while and just enjoy the springtime weather. Oh, one thing I forgot (and commonsensechristian, you may remember this from OD). My wife of fourteen years passed away two years ago yesterday unexpectedly. Shortly after, my wedding ring was lost. Naturally I was pretty upset about it and looked high and low for it. Yesterday, my son Brad found it IN THE YARD! I have no idea how it ever came off my finger in the first place, but he saw something glinting in the sunlight and there it was! That's the second time a lost ring has been miraculously returned to me! Who now doubts that I live a charmed life? LOL I hope everyone out there has a wonderful weekend. Take care-John


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.