This Present State Of Grace in Otter Bach's Musings

  • March 22, 2014, 3:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So one thing I did a lot over at the previous site was song lyrics. Nobody really ever read them (I had an entry counter, I know), but everything I write is really for my benefit first and everyone else second. I know, I'm a horrible person. I'm not writing to keep everyone up to date on what's going on in my life. I write when I feel like I have something to say or feel like I need to sort through the thoughts in my head.

Music has always been such a powerful thing for me. After much debate in high school, I decided to pursue music in college and after as my means of existing. Fate had other things in mind and, after a particularly cruel injury, left me unable to ever play at a level I would need to sustain myself. I ultimately chose to walk away from music, but have been fighting a mental/emotional battle ever since. Walking away from something that powerful on a physical level is much easier than on an emotional level. I've ultimately realized that music will be a part of my life, no matter what I do, just not in the ways I'd hoped. So now, instead of venting my frustrations through a piano, I usually end up going for a drive with my stereo turned up and letting the music (and sometimes the lyrics) flow over me.

Most people skip my lyric entries because they figure, "it's just a song she likes." In reality, if it makes it into my journal, it has to be having a pretty significant impact on me at that moment for whatever reason. If I figure out how to post a video I'll do it. And so I give you:

In this present state of grace I hold my head up high Though the water damage froze Another flood will soon be by Here and now is all we'll be So it's this present state of grace I offer thee

Welcome home to the men And the women who defend Back to their lives and the lies Shat on them by government Through the barbs and the pokes And the ones we'd like to choke It's this present state of grace I offer thee

In this present state of grace A poor man robbed me blind Though I offered him the cash He said 'don't insult my pride' To each their own We're just flesh and bone And this present state of grace I offer thee

In this present state of grace I saw the wall capsize And through the banks they fell Into the swelling tide Let them eat cake For our mistakes And this present state of grace I offer thee

So let's sing goodbye to Auld Lang Syne Under the carpet sweep behind Where passengers making turns Towards the coming great divide The true prophet never spoke He just smiles and saw the joke And this present state of grace I offer thee

'Cause only life, yeah only life has loneliness to sell So celebrate, yeah live your life, live it and raise hell The true prophet never spoke He just smiled and saw the joke And this present state of grace we creatures need

Yeah, it's this present state of grace we creatures need

~Flogging Molly


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.