Mixed entry in My new life, a book

  • March 22, 2014, 3:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I earned 7 stamps at the supermarket according to the money I spent and the products I bought. I am saving for cutlery and only need another 3 stamps.

Odd isn't it. I can easily buy a set of cutlery. However, getting something for free appeals to me. I wonder... the way of saving by pasting stamps, is that tyical Dutch or is it a well used system in other places of the world. I have no idea; neither of a way to learn to know. So I would like to ask you!

The cutlery, yet to be gained, is for my son. He found a house to live on his own. His relationship was under pressure, too much cats and dog fights and finally he looked for and found a room near his job. Then, just settled, he got an offer for a house for rent in the city of Utrecht. A very small house but for a reasonable price and with a garden. He accepted the offer... even if he isn't completely sure that his ex-girlfriend will continue to be an ex. They have stayed in contact almost daily.

Still walking the road of rehabilitation. In hospital I was told to expect a year to reach the condition from before the operation. Tomorrow it is exactly 6 months and I think the medical people were right. Though I am able to do lots of things... I earned a few points by starting swimming once a week, I also am tired after each exercise. Comparing your condition with that of a few months ago is the best way to notice the difference.

We are both looking forward to a short trip. Yesterday son mailed us a voucher for a night in an hotel in the eastern part of Brabant. I have booked two extra nights. It seems a nice place for walks, a monastery in a nature park. We will also visit two towns in the neighbourhood, where son lives temperary and where he works.


Deleted user March 22, 2014

I am so glad you can see the improvement after 6 months. Very very glad that you survived to enjoy the gradual return of our wellness.

They have those sorts of reward things here for a specific purpose, e.g. parts of a dinner set, but I haven't seen them lately. Now it is more points for your plastic card or reductions in the price IF you have the plastic card. I might try to see how that could help us, but Husband is not interested in such things usually ... he buys what he thinks we need without regard to "Specials".

Yes, it's a difficult situation when a country has to decide whether to allow someone with extreme opinions to come (and maybe make more recruits, ormaybe finding nobody is convinced by his preaching) or to show what we think of those extreme views by blocking his arrival. I still am not sure, but I don't like his opinions, that's for sure. Maybe I don't want to know how many supporters he has here. There will be some, I'm sure, but not many, I hope. What would be good would be if he came and nobody was interested, but we do have lots of weird ones.

jamez March 23, 2014

When I was a child there were Green Shield stamps, you could earn them in a variety of shops and when you bought petrol for the car; I think it stopped in the 1970’s. I hope things work out for your son, in a way that sees him happy; some times people stay together for the wrong resign! It’s nice to find you feeling better this year, and we have summer just round the corner.

Deleted user March 24, 2014

Hi! Just read your note...so pleased to hear from you. I will read your previous entries after this. Wonderful you are improving steadily.

We have those stamps for cutlery here too.

bill_gardner April 08, 2014

Glad to hear that you are getting stronger, even though it is not as fast as you would like. Unfortunate that your son and girlfriend(ex but not final EX) are uncertain about their future together. We used to have a grocery chain in Montreal that gave pinky stamps, that you would paste in a book and eventually be able to exchange for things like you mention. My daughter does it in California, even though her husband works for Google... We had snow again on the grass when we woke up this morning, but it became a much more beautiful day in the afternoon. best wishes Bill

Fishermanswife bill_gardner ⋅ April 14, 2014

Hi Bill, glad to see you found me. Cold in the morning and nice in the afternoon, that's April isn't it. I have another entry ready, only need to find the time to write.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.