Electronic supremacy, and other work nonsense. in Tales of Employment.

  • March 22, 2014, 8:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Alright, so I haven't written anything in awhile. So how about a quick update on the employment front.

So awhile ago I was asked to cover electronics because the scheduling team failed miserably and didn't acknowledge a staff members unavailability. So they were shorthanded, and didn't have anybody. You need to be trained to work electronics. Granted that I know the products plenty, there are certain things that you need to be taught. Procedural things and what not. So they have me cover electronics with absolutely no training. Well, there's a rating system for electronics apparently. The target number is like 65 or something like that. I had a ranking of 57 on 2 days with no training, which was higher than every body except for one. I was even higher than the lead for that department. So they want to try and get me over in electronics, which is a possibility, but another staff member has seniority over me so that's no big deal. I'm making coin regardless.

Long hours. I am constantly being asked to stay later than my scheduled shift. 9 times out of 10 I will stay later, but I shouldn't be the only person that is so agreeable. I mean, depending on who is the leader for that day, they will either ask me first because they know that I will usually help, or they are a lead that knows that I am always the one to agree to stay late, so they try to see if someone else will stay late before relying on me. Idc either way, it's just we are supposed to stay under 40 hours to maintain the part time yadda yadda, but if nobody else is willing to help and stay late, and I am the only one being flexible....I will be over 40 hours often. And that puts me in a spot where I hit "Compliance" which is a list that they call the "no-no sheet" Now. explain to me why my reliability and flexibility and my saving their asses warrants me to hit compliance, when I am the only one they can lean on? If I am going to be the only one helping when needed....I should be valued for that, not put on a "no-no sheet"

Anyway, so way back when a cart attendant called out, and I was asked if I were willing to cover that shift. I said sure, it's just moving carts. So I got brief of brief of brief training on the responsibilities, which were really just how to work the electric cart that I don't even use. And that I am supposed to check the bathrooms. Well, then they schedule me for cart attendant again. I did one shift last week and I have it 3 days in a row this week....I was not hired as a god damn cart attendant. I agreed to cover that one shift, because you needed someone. I never said, hey ....I want to be hired as a fucking cart attendant. Not once. I was hired as a seasonal sales associate...stupid ass title. I work retail. I was kept on because I am a damn good worker. I bail them out when need be, but ....Scheduling cart attendant so frequently is pretty annoying. Not that I don't sorta enjoy it. I can work at my pace, and I'm outside and not micromanaged. I like that part. But, It's frustrating. I don't use the electronic cart. I manually bring carts in like 7 at a time. and I have them all in pretty steadily, while the cart attendants that have been doing it awhile use the electric cart pusher, take FOREVER.

Alright so that does it for work related things. I think.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.