The Night We Met in General

  • March 17, 2020, 9:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Night We Met

<iframe allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" src="
" width="560"></iframe>

I had all and then most of you
Some and now none of you
Take me back to the night we met…

Melancholy, I suppose. On occasion I revel in it. There is nothing sweeter than Spring suddenly imposing itself on you, then doing the Lucy and yanking the football away.

I woke to snow softly falling and nothing particular to do. The apartment suffered through my particular type of Spring cleaning, although spring is still days away. My clean ensconce makes me oddly happy.

I dorked around with trying to organize the things that must happen as the days, weeks, months go by. My garden will be twice as big this year. I planted three tomato, four jalapeno and a single zucchini last year. While satisfying, it didn’t last. This year I will be planting twice as many plants. That will require me building a platform on which to place the five-gallon buckets I have taken to growing my green babies within.

I had an odd panic earlier today. I realized the weather reminded me of a trip I took with Mancub from San Diego up into the San Gabriel’s to Big Bear. We landed at our hotel then went out to supper. In a full blizzard. For me, the New England kid who spent very little time in new England growing up, it was strangely nostalgic. For mancub, who grew up mostly in the west, it must have seemed surreal.

That was the second week of April in 1998. My trip to Mazatlán was later that summer. There was a lot of misery that had to happen between then and the 22nd of June, 1999.

I am closing on to a hope that one day I will come to grips with all the things I didn’t do quite right. But I don’t accept that it was all my fault. A part of me, as I fall into bed at night, aches. Not a physical ache, but a spiritual ache. I did what I could.

I had all and then most of you
Some and now none of you
Take me back to the night we met…

I am not the only traveler
Who has not repaid his debt
I’ve been searching for a trail to follow again
Take me back to the night we met

And then I can tell myself
What the hell I’m supposed to do
And then I can tell myself
Not to ride along with you

I had all and then most of you
Some and now none of you
Take me back to the night we met
I don’t know what I’m supposed to do

Haunted by the ghost of you
Oh, take me back to the night we met
When the night was full of terrors
And your eyes were filled with tears

When you had not touched…
When the night was full of terrors
And your eyes were filled with tears
When you had not touched me yet

Oh, take me back to the night we met
I had all and then most of you
Some and now none of you
Take me back to the night we met

I don’t know what I’m supposed to do
Haunted by the ghost of you
Take me back to the night we met

-Lord Huron


Last updated March 17, 2020


Telstar March 18, 2020

We all have things in our past.

Look to the future...…………….

Jinn March 23, 2020

You did what you could and that is all a person can do .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.