Social distancing in 2020

  • March 16, 2020, 7:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The library closed to the public effective Saturday, but they told the regularly scheduled employees to come in today to work on projects. I had a great day today, got a huge project finished and was looking forward to working on more stuff later in the week - but the library director called me at home tonight to tell me the mayor has now declared that all non-essential personnel should stay home, and part time library employees definitely fall under that umbrella. So I guess my entire family is sheltering at home until further notice.

The kids’ taekwondo school was planning to stay open but limit contact drills, but today they announced they’ll hold regularly scheduled classes today and tomorrow but after that they will be posting practice videos on YouTube for the students to get in some practice at home. No additional in-person classes until further notice. The school recently changed ownership, I love the new owners but they are young and some people weren’t enthusiastic about the change so I’m concerned that this will be the death knell of the dojo. I really don’t want to see that happen, we’ve been going there since the kids were 4-5 years old (except for the years we were in Arizona) and I’d be sad to see it shuttered - plus that would be so terrible for the owners.

I had three theater events I was really looking forward to in the coming weeks - Miss Saigon at the Fox Theater, a play called The Brothers Size at a smaller theater called Actors Express, and then Hamilton also at the Fox. AE has officially cancelled all their productions for the foreseeable future, and the Fox has definitely cancelled Miss Saigon - Hamilton was supposed to be the first week of April, and they haven’t outright said it’s not going to happen but I’m betting that announcement will be coming soon.

I’m working on ways to stay in touch with local friends while social distancing. Kast for digital movie nights, Roll 20 for online gaming (though I was just about to start a Call of Cthulhu campaign and I’m not at all sure I can GM successfully via Roll 20, I really need to get more familiar with it!). I have plenty of books to read, and TV to catch up on, but I really need to settle my anxiety. Right now I can’t manage more than podcasts and Candy Crush.


Honor March 17, 2020

I never heard of Kast, but maybe I should check it out. A virtual movie night seems like a fun deal!

Calicakes March 18, 2020

The theaters here cancelled their shows over a week ago, each day more and more things close.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.