March 21 then (2004) and now (2014) in Life

  • March 21, 2014, 9:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

It was an exciting week on the farm. On Tuesday when uncle checked the cows in the timber he found that one of his white cows had just had twns. She wasnt claiming the one that had been born first so they loaded them up and took them to the pasture next to their house. After a little work she started claiming them both.

Then on Wednesday night he found that Pocohantos's water had broken. They took her back to the house pasture and watched her all night. In the morning she had still not had her calf so while they were at work Grandma checked on her every two hours. Finally at 1 she saw a foot and she could tell the calf was coming backwards. She called Aunt who came home early from work, and then my cousin Teri came when she got out of work at 3. They couldnt get ahold of the vet so the three women pulled the calf themselves! The calf was still alive when they got it and while Poco was cleaning it off Grandma noticed another foot coming out of Poco! Teri tried to say it was just the after birth but with only a few pushes Poco had another baby!

They are a little confused as to who is their mom but the gray ones belong to Poco, and White cow had the brownish red ones.

Of course the first thing I had to do when I got there was check out the twins. I wish I had been around on Thursday to join in the fun. After looking at the twins I paid a visit to Aunts cats. Including that traitor Elvis! :)

When we got back to Grandma's I spent the rest of the afternoon cleaning out the Iris bed.and trimming back the roses and some of the other plants. The only thing in bloom is the crocus. The tulips need to be divided. They are all coming up in a big clump. Anyone know if I can do that before they flower?

Last night Grandma and I watched Trading Spaces which I must say those were the two worst rooms Ive ever seen done. Usually I will like at least one of the two rooms.

This afternoon we went back to Aunts for dinner. Before dinner I checked out the twins and cats again.

When I went to leave Grandma gave me my half of the insurance money for Star. I would prefer to have Star as opposed to the money. We only got 300.00 bucks. If she had been sold at market we would have gotten between 500 and 700. Doesnt seem fair to me. Something about the price of cows being down when they purchased the policy.

Speaking of Uncle I was laying down on the coach when he came in from working outside, and he yelled "NIECE, what do you think you are doing laying down." I got a chuckle out of that. He loves to give me a hard time. :)

alt text

Me Friday 03-21-2014

I wish my old computer worked so I could find pictures of the things I was writing about in 2004. Frustrated tonight because the scale only showed a loss of .2 but

Good Things I did for me

Worked out with Angie

Ran 3 miles

Gratitudes That today was payday and I was able to replace my Ipod Shuffle with a Ipod nano. I lost the shuffle last week on my long run so I also got a armband to hold the nano.

http://i1311.photobucket.com/albums/s672/kckat3913/merock_zpsc1c0c7e9.jpg


LivingWaterCreek March 22, 2014

What an exciting and amazing day of births back then! I've never witness livestock birthing, can only imagine the challenges after reading this. Your mastiff is gorgeous.

Squidobarnez March 22, 2014

I just love the stories from those past years, they're all so down-homey and cool.

and I'm still so proud and amazed at how you're transforming yourself in The Present.

I hope you have an uber-lovely rest of your weekend.

PB-buddy-huggies

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.